1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Linux Install Question

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by swaters, Apr 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. swaters

    swaters Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    I downloaded the full version of SuSe 9.0 with the intentions of putting it on a server and pointing the install to it. I can't load the network modules. I'm using an old Dell Optiplex which has an onboard Intel Pro 100 NIC. I couldn't get that to load so I threw in a Realtek 8139. I couldn't get that to load either. It keeps asking me for parameters. I tried putting "slot=4" for the Realtek and "slot=0" for the Intel. Neither of those worked. What should the parameters be to get the NIC loaded?
     
  2. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
  3. deuce868

    deuce868

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2000
    Messages:
    637
    have you tried just leaving the paramters blank? I know I had an intel using the e100pro and I would just load it, leave the paramters blank and it came up just fine.
     
  4. swaters

    swaters Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    I tried that the first time and it failed, then I tried putting parameters in and that failed, then I tried it blank again and it worked. I also realized that the other NIC isn't an Intel, it's a 3Com. I couldn't see the motherboard too well and I thought I saw an Intel chipset but after I did the install with the Realtek NIC, SuSe recognized the other NIC was a 3Com. Thanks.
     
  5. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
    Thats nice.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/220014

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice