1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

linux installation

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by nomad, Jan 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nomad

nomad Thread Starter

First off I am new to Linux but have a fair amount of knowledge with windows operting systems. I would like to install linux on an old laptop of mine (133MHZ) so I got on the internet and started doing some reading. There seem to be a lot of different versions of linux. How do I know which versionis best for me? Is it true that you can down load the operating system for free? Number two I wnet to my bois trying to make my CD rom the first boot device just incase I found a linux operating sytem. Well it doesn't look like my lap top has the ability to boot from my CD rom. So does this mean I can not put Linux on my Laptop.

thanx

2. saikee

saikee

The first thing I would do in your case is to download Dos 7.10.

It comes with Grub as the boot loader and has a facility to transfer booting to a CD rom.

Can't say it will work in all cases as it depends on the BIOS ability to make available the device.

Once you can transfer the booting into the CD drive then the rest is easy.

Failing that you may have to concentrate on distros that come in a floppy.

If you manage to get the CD drive to boot via Grub then try out a few installable Live CDs.

Live CDs are Linux that can run without being installed into the hard disk. When you are happy with it then you can install it. Not all of the Live CDs are installable but a lot of them do, like Mepis, Puppy, Kanotix, Ubuntu (two versions one Live and one installable), Damn Small Linux, Slax, Whax, Slampp, Knoppix...............

3. nomad

nomad Thread Starter

Is DOS 7.10 free and if so where do I find it?

4. saikee

saikee