Live Update - cannot configure automatically

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Waxy257670

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Messages
23
Ever since I renewed my subscription to Norton Antivirus, LiveUpdate cannot be turned on to run automatically. It works fine when I manually use the program, but I know it should run automatically. I have figured out so far that Task Scheduler no longer seems to be running - could this be the problem. When I click the "turn on" button for automatic live update, nothing happens. I had some spyware issue a little while back, on two different computers, and you guys were very helpful in fixing the problems,but I seem to be having the liveupdate problem on both machines .Any help would be great.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,452
Have you tried uninstalling it and reinstalling it?

Which Norton product is it exactly (name and year).
 
Joined
Jul 29, 1999
Messages
1,150
What version of NAV are you using? If it is anything prior to 2004, forget it! Live updates, etc. including support are non-existent for 2003 or before. I finally gave up after renewing my NAV2003 and completely uninstalled Norton and am using AVG. Norton is making it hard for anyone using anything prior to 2004. They don't deserve customers, based on the way they are performing customer support. Just my opinion, but there are lots of others in here with similar opinions of Norton, believe me.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2004
Messages
1,993
Yes, I think Norton requires Task Scheduler (control Panel - Scheduled Tasks) to be active in order for Live updates to work. You can manually configure live update from there.
 

Waxy257670

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Messages
23
I have not tried the uninstall and reinstall - can i copy it from the c drive to a cd and then reinstall? Will I need the key for that?

I am using NAV 2005.

I concur on the task scheduler, except task scheduler is turned off and I don't know how to get it turned back on.
 

bassetman

Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
Cookiegal said:
Have you tried uninstalling it and reinstalling it?

Which Norton product is it exactly (name and year).
Do you think this might do better in Security? :confused:
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,452
bassetman said:
Do you think this might do better in Security? :confused:
I'm all for moving it if you think it would do better in Security. Moving now.


can i copy it from the c drive to a cd and then reinstall? Will I need the key for that?
So I take it you don't have the original software? You will need the key and copying a corrupt copy to a CD and reinstalling it won't solve the problem.
 

Waxy257670

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Messages
23
I ordered the 2005 version (full new version, not just another year of subscription service)right from Symantec's website, so no, I don't have a hard copy of the software.

Maybe if I start by fixing the task scheduler, Norton will be able to allow itself to be set to run liveupdate?
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,452
You could try that. Do you get an error message when you try to run live update? Usually it will give you an error no. and a link to Symantec for a solution.
 

Waxy257670

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Messages
23
it actually doesn't do anything when I click on teh botton to turn on live update. Hopefully I can devote a concentrated period of time to fixing this in the next few days. I appreciat eyour help with this.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,452
To check Windows Task Scheduler on Windows XP

On the Windows desktop, click Start and then right-click My Computer.

Click Manage.

Double-click Services and Application.

Double-click Services.

On the Task Scheduler tab, verify that the Status is Started and that the Startup Type is Automatic.

If the Task Scheduler is not started, then right-click the Task Scheduler entry, and then click Start.

If Task Scheduler does not appear in the list, then on with these steps to enable the Task Scheduler.

On the Windows desktop click Start > Settings > Control Panel.
Double-click Scheduled Tasks.

Click Advanced, and then click Start Using Task Scheduler.
Close the Task Scheduler.

See if that helps at all.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top