local and internet but no internet access

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

metzzz03

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
11
i bought a new DIR-600 router

I have been using this just for a week or 2

but recently, this past 3 days, i can't seem get an internet access even if the network icon in the system tray indicates that my access is Local and Internet ready.
my temporary solution in solving this is by putting my router to its factory settings and re-install again.
i have been using this temporary solution for almost 3 times already; 1 per day.

any solution or ideas?

if you need more information just to help, i'll post it right a way,
but pls help me, i'm not that computer literate.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
have a look and see if the router has the latest firmware - you can get the firmware from here
http://www.dlink.com/DIR-600

post back the following ipconfig /all and ping tests when its working and repeat ALL the tests when it fails

are you using the wireless at all if so - lets see an xirrus screen shot , also if you can connect by cable and see if that disconnects as well


------------------------------------------------------------------------
{ipconfig /all}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
-> Start
-> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all
-> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all

A black box will appear on the screen -
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy

then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{Ping Tests}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
Then run and install the program
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
 

metzzz03

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
11
thank you for your reply,
i'll post the info if the problem occurs again...

i already fixed it by using my method of reinstalling

btw thanks for the step by step procedures there.
it is a very newbie friendly instructions
 

metzzz03

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
11
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Marc>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Marc-VAIO
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain.name

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.name
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-FB-86-A6-44
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.101(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 09, 2011 11:50:03 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 10, 2011 6:09:07 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.name
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8055 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
net Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-BA-F5-34-73
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.name
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.domain.name
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:2c08:37df:87e3:7f6f(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2c08:37df:87e3:7f6f%14(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Users\Marc>
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
your welcome
if it is now all resolved -

You can mark your own threads solved using the
button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner.
:)
 

metzzz03

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
11
oh yea, i have a question,

is there a chance that my problem only occurs in my laptop?
because there is still another laptop here, which is my dad's, but isn't been used lately because of his work.

if my problem rises again, i'll try using my dad's laptop if the connection is fine there.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
you are using DHCP - which means the router is giving the IP address - so if its the same on your dads laptop should not be an issue

switch it on and connect and post an ipconfig /all here from your dads laptop - make sure you have permission to do that - and also label here so we know which is which

is there a chance that my problem only occurs in my laptop?
Yes
The ping tests will help us a lot with identification of issue - so do ALL those tests while its working OK as a reference and then repeat when disconnects
 

metzzz03

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
11
your welcome
if it is now all resolved -

You can mark your own threads solved using the
button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner.
:)
it is fixed for now,

like i said earlier, the problem occurs daily.
so i guess, my temporary solution is just temporary, because re-installing it takes time. and I think, it is not ideal in always reinstalling the device.
 

metzzz03

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
11
Ping test

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Marc>ping 192.168.0.1

Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms

C:\Users\Marc>ping google.com

Pinging google.com [74.125.71.106] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 74.125.71.106: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=55
Reply from 74.125.71.106: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=55
Reply from 74.125.71.106: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=55
Reply from 74.125.71.106: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=55

Ping statistics for 74.125.71.106:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 52ms, Maximum = 53ms, Average = 52ms

C:\Users\Marc>ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=292ms TTL=48
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=292ms TTL=48
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=292ms TTL=48
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=292ms TTL=48

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 292ms, Maximum = 292ms, Average = 292ms

C:\Users\Marc>
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
so i guess, my temporary solution is just temporary, because re-installing it takes time. and I think, it is not ideal in always reinstalling the device.
so not resolved - we are here 24/7 so no rush to close - just post all the three ping tests
and then when it disconnects
post the ipconfig /all and all three PING tests

it maybe wireless interference - so lets see the xirrus screen shot
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
lets see all the tests again when it disconnects - you may need to paste into something like notepad and save until you get reconnected to post back here
 

metzzz03

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
11
Ip config test

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Marc>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Marc-VAIO
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain.name

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.name
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-FB-86-A6-44
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 15, 2011 9:36:27 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 16, 2011 9:36:27 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.name
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8055 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
net Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-BA-F5-34-73
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.name
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.domain.name
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:2478:37df:2180:41b8(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2478:37df:2180:41b8%14(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Users\Marc>

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

3 Ping Tests

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Marc>Ping 192.168.0.1

Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3 (75% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 2ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 2ms

C:\Users\Marc>ping google.com
Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
.

C:\Users\Marc>ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=463ms TTL=48

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3 (75% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 463ms, Maximum = 463ms, Average = 463ms
 

Attachments

metzzz03

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
11
it happened again...

im using ethernet cable now to connect to the internet.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
Does it disconnect if using cable ?
do you have other devices connected and do they disconnect as well ?

A few things to try - remove the wireless security and run like that for a while and see if disconnects
the ping results did show an intermittent connection

did you update the router firmware link posted

whats the make and mode of the PC - would be worth updating the wireless driver
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top