1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Local Area Connection disabled?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by tech2me, May 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tech2me

    tech2me Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Hello all. New guy here. Diving in head first, lol.

    Anyways, my issue is with a laptop that I am working on. It has an integrated Realtek NIC adapter. When I go into Network Connection upon boot, I see that the local area connection is disabled. If I enable it (which works flawlessly) I can get right on to the internet for the duration that the laptop is powered up.

    I guess my question is this: Why does the NIC keep getting disabled everytime I reboot? I have looked in Services (By the way this is a WinXP Home sysytem) and Network Connections is enabled and started with boot.

    I have scanned the PC for viruses and it is coming up 100% clean. Any help is greatly appreciated. This is driving me NUTS to say the least.
     
  2. tech2me

    tech2me Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    bump and a pray! (y)
     
  3. gurutech

    gurutech

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,959
    Check to make sure it's enabled in the BIOS, and that any "Wake On LAN" settings (in both the BIOS and in WinXP) are DISABLED.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Just in case, let's do this. :)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. cmw2010

    cmw2010

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    327
    What brand of laptop do you have?
     
  6. tech2me

    tech2me Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    It's an Acer... I will be in the shop in about 2 hours. I will be sure to try these things when I get there. Thanks for the responses and I will let you know. Thanks again. :)
     
  7. cmw2010

    cmw2010

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    327
    Check in your Acer epower management utility and see if your profiles are set to have the network disabled on logon.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,555
    gurutech, while we're waiting for tech2me to get back, why is it important to have Wake On Lan disabled? And why disabled in both BIOS and Windows?
     
  9. gurutech

    gurutech

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,959
    TerryNet, I've always found that WOL and power management (at least in my experience) have had problems getting along.

    As far as making sure it's disabled both in BIOS and Windows, sometimes the option is not available in the BIOS, so I was just making sure to "kill the bird" with two stones.... (a play on the "killing two birds with one stone" bit...
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,555
    Thanks, gurutech. That makes sense.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/576717