local area connection doesn't have a valid ip configuration

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pugmastaflex

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
8
Hi all,

I came here off word of mouth and I am going to donate immediately after I get some help!

I'm having a lot of trouble. One of my computers is getting the "local area connection doesn't have a valid ip configuration" error from troubleshooting my network. My network is an "Unidentified Network" with NO NETWORK or INTERNET ACCESS. This happened ever since I installed a new modem. The modem is WORKING with all other computers. My NIC card for the computer that is not connecting, is also working since I tested it on another modem. I had to call the ISP to activate the new modem. I spoke with them and they said nothing is blocked on their end.

So I've narrowed it down to my computer since there is no hardware issue. I connect by LAN, FYI. I've tried new cables, etc. My computer has no "BONJOUR" in it nor does it have any firewalls set up, just Windows Security Essentials.

I noticed in my IPCONFIG /ALL that no IP shows up for my default gateway (should be 192.168.0.1). DHCP is enabled. I tried static IP as well to no avail.

I've attached a screenshot of my IPCONFIG /ALL. I've tried literally everything that I could think of. I've called Time Warner and I've checked every forum. This forum had the smartest people on it, so I wanted to give a shot posting here.

I would be so grateful if anyone could help me. Thank you so much.
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
pugm :
Hello & welcome to Tech Guy Forum.

We will need additional information.
Please run this forum's system info utility & post the results.
http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Valuable_links

We need the brand, model & model # of your router.

Please provide the brand, model & model # of your computer.

No firewall. Presumably you did NOT disable the W7 firewall. If you did, please re-enable it.
MSE does not contain a FW.

When did the problem begin? Sometimes the exact date is important.

What changed? Installation or removal of hardware or software; driver update; W7 update; MSE update; update to Adobe or Java?

Boot to safe mode with networking & report the results.
RIGHT click "command prompt"
Left click "run as administrator"
Type: c:
Press enter
Type: ipconfig /all
enter


A screen shot is fine.
Also, right click the title bar of command prompt
Left click "edit"
Left click "select all"

Left click "edit"
Left click "copy"

Paste into notepad
Save the file.
Return to this forum
attach or paste the results.
Pasting into the reply is easier to read vs a screen shot.
:)


My NIC card for the computer that is not connecting, is also working since I tested it on another modem.
You have also tested the IP stack of the computer.
Good job of checking the cables.
(y)

RF123
 

pugmastaflex

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
8
Thanks a lot for your reply. I will get back to you when I get home to check it out. I am using my laptop to access the internet while I troubleshoot.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,754
Remember to power cycle the modem when switching the device connected to it.

There could be a cable (between modem and computer) defect. Since your ethernet port is gigabit it may be the case that all eight wires need to be good.

What is the brand and model of the modem?
 

pugmastaflex

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
8
Hi Terry, the brand and model of the modem is Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem . My computer is homebuilt. All of the wires have been tested to other devices. The modem is also in working order and works on my laptop. I believe it has something to do with my windows 7 recognizing the device, but I can't get further than that.

Thanks
 

pugmastaflex

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
8
Hi Terry, the brand and model of the modem is Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem . My computer is homebuilt. All of the wires have been tested to other devices. The modem is also in working order and works on my laptop. I believe it has something to do with my windows 7 recognizing the device, but I can't get further than that.

Thanks
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,754
Sometimes a NIC does not auto sync a speed with a particular modem. In Device Manager right click on the ethernet - Properties - Advanced tab. For the 'Speed & Duplex' property try different values (e.g., 100 Mbps full duplex).
 

pugmastaflex

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
8
So I don't actually have that option under my advanced tab on the gigabit adapter properties...
 

pugmastaflex

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
8
I made some headway I think. It's now no longer an unidentified network. I manually changed the IPv4 to be the gateway to my modem (192.168.100.1) so at least now when I ping the modem from CMD it sends packets. However, only one of my MAC addresses (the laptop I'm typing on) shows up on the modem admin page. The computer still isn't being recognized, but at least it can connect to the network. Now I need to connect it to the internet.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
12,418
Try doing a ipconfig on your laptop and note down the DNS server ip addresses. Then put them in the PC that is not connecting.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top