1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"Local Area Connection Doesn't Have a Valid IP Configuration"

Discussion in 'Networking' started by NeveraDalekSaid, Feb 21, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. NeveraDalekSaid

    NeveraDalekSaid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Hello all!

    I am unable to connect to the network using an Ethernet cable. I can connect wirelessly; in fact, I am using my laptop and its wireless connection to make this post. I can also connect wirelessly on my phone.

    I restarted the router the first time it disconnected last night, and it worked. Perhaps an hour later, when it disconnected again, restarting the router did not help. I turned the computer off, thinking the problem would have resolved itself overnight. NOPE!
    I powered down everything (pulled all cords from the power strip and turned that off, leaving it off for 20-30 minutes). Didn't work.
    I then updated my Realtek drivers. Didn't work.
    I unchecked TCP/IPv6 in Local Area Connection properties. Didn't work.

    I'm not sure what else to do.

    I downloaded TSG SysInfo, and here's the info it returned:

    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD FX(tm)-6300 Six-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 21 Model 2 Stepping 0
    Processor Count: 6
    RAM: 24472 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650, -2048 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 953340 MB, Free - 800226 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., M5A97 R2.0
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled

    I'm not sure why it doesn't detect it, but I also have Malwarebytes installed and running.

    Please help!

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,605
    First Name:
    Terry
    For the attempted ethernet connection ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    [Press ENTER after each command.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. NeveraDalekSaid

    NeveraDalekSaid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks, Terry!



    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
    (c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\which_000>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jennifers-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TAP-Windows Adapter V9
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-55-2E-07-F8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2478:c38d:6c25:2e6d%7(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.46.109(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201391957
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-CC-A9-FD-E0-3F-49-A4-8E-D6

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-3F-49-A4-8E-D6
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{552E07F8-B28E-4AB8-92CF-29239B7939E5}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,605
    First Name:
    Terry
    I don't know anything about that TAP-Windows Adapter V9. According to this Problem with Windows TAP adapter v9 (and others) it may be associated with a VPN and may be the cause of your problem.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1143533

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice