1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Local area connection doesnt have a valid IP configuration

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ykumbharkar, Dec 26, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ykumbharkar

    ykumbharkar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    i have cisco switches. i plugged one switch with another switch which is directly connected to router.but when i connect my pc with 2nd switch its showing me error "Local area connection doesnt have a valid IP configuration".
    is their any problem with switch or cable ?
    please help me..
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,311
    First Name:
    David
    Why so many devices to get the internet connection?
     
  3. KKLC

    KKLC

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    you may need to check the configs of your both switches. Are the ports (connecting both switches) and the port connecting your PC are on the same vlan?
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,311
    First Name:
    David
    Are you plugging the cable into the right ports?
    Most daisy chains need to be plugged into the #1 port.
     
  5. ykumbharkar

    ykumbharkar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    i havent check that those are on same vlan or not
    thanks for reply
     
  6. ykumbharkar

    ykumbharkar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    thanks for reply
    yes but it doesnt work
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,659
    First Name:
    James
    possibly the cable between the switches. Plug the PC into switch 1 if you can and see if you get the same result.

    What are the model numbers for the switches?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1220947

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice