1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Local Area Connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by chrisseybrown, Jan 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chrisseybrown

chrisseybrown Thread Starter

Hi All,

I am a relative beginner and I am having a problem that is beyond my ability.

I am using windows XP on my PC, I have got AOL Gold Broadband, I have also had fitted a Linksys Wireless G Card. Which works ok with my daughters Laptop. However it kept showing a message on my PC that "Local Area Connection" is unplugged. After ensuring that my connections were ok, & trying various things my son-in-law fitted a wireless card to my PC. Now I am getting the following error message "Local Area Connection 2" is unplugged. I now cannot get onto AOL Broadband at all. When I try to logon to AOL I am getting the following message "Home DNS Server Unreachable or Unavailable (24-01-08-033).
    Can you help? Is it a Software Problem? Hardware Problem or a Virus?

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    Welcome, chrisseybrown.

Do you have an ethernet cable connected between the router and your PC when you get "Local Area Connection 2" is unplugged? If so, there is a problem with the cable, the router's port, or your ethernet card. If you are not connected by cable, then the message is just stating the obvious.

If you are trying to connect via ethernet, then the above is your problem--likely hardware.

If you are connecting via wireless, do you know whether you actually get communication with the router?

I won't be able to help you with anything specific to AOL, but we don't yet know whether this is an AOL or just beginning jitters connecting to a router.

3. chrisseybrown

Hi TerrNet,

I have some more information of my problem.