Local Connection Only

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

frazcam

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 31, 2011
Messages
2
Hi.

I share a modem and router with my building, and connect to the internet using an ethernet cable which plus right into the wall in my apartment. A few days ago I was on the internet in the morning, went for lunch, then when I came home could no longer connect. When I hover over the network/internet icon it tells me that I have a local connection only and can't get online. No changes were made to my computer between it working and not working - I have not installed any new software and the modem+router have not been changed. I do not know the name of the isp as it is a Thai company organised and paid for by my landlord.

I run AVG free, but always have done so don't think that could be the problem. I ran a full system scan and there no problems came up. I have unpowered and restarted the modem and router with no joy. What's weird is I can connect to the same modem/router using the wifi... I really can't understand why. It's not amazing, fails to connect a lot of the time, and disconnects without warning on others; but it IS connecting. On the occasions I have been lucky enough to hold onto the signal I have been able to browse a couple of pages (very slowly). However, it is not the wifi connection that I am worried about, I need the ethernet connection to work as it is the only way I can get anything close to a fast enough connection for my needs. You should also know that my girlfriend can connect with no problems using her mac. I have tried following some advice given to other people experiencing the same problem that I found on other forums but no luck (I'm sorry but I really can't remember what it was and I can't find out what this was exactly as I can't find the web page...something to do with resetting the ip cache in cmd maybe?). I have also followed the advice on this thread with no luck: http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...on-606656.html

When I try ipconfig/release is says it can't perform the operation while the media is disconnected. It also tells me that "an error occurred while releasing interface Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1: The system cannot find the fie specified". Please let me know if there is anything else you need to know, and I thank you in advance for any help!!

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : z
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TAP-Win32 Adapter V9
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-95-91-19-6E
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187SE Wireless LAN PCIE Netwo
rk Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-5F-7C-36-C6
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-03-0D-C7-1A-D5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d429:c444:6998:f382%10(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.243.130(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 167772941
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-0F-56-83-00-03-0D-C7-1A-D5

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{9591196E-666E-4A25-984F-6EAAE4B2A
D84}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{2938EF79-4D20-4FBB-A290-5FFD39505
3A5}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Windows\system32>
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,394
I didn't read that other thread, so there may be duplication here ...

Make sure you have the latest ethernet driver from your PC (or motherboard) manufacturer's web site. If you already have the latest reinstall it anyhow (because the installed instance may be corrupted).

Make sure the cable is still good (you may have already done so by checking with your girlfriend's computer).

What security applications (firewall, security suite, anti-virus, etc.) do you have on the machine?

(From a JohnWill post)

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

frazcam

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 31, 2011
Messages
2
Hi! Thanks for the reply, it's very much appreciated.

Yes the cable has been checked and is OK. The driver is up to date and I have reinstalled it for good measure - still no luck. The cmd lines you've suggested I run is the same advice I found elsewhere but couldn't remember exactly what I'd done. Thought I'd try it again anyway though, and something else happened this time that I'm fairly sure I didn't see the first time I did it... I got the following error message for the ipv4 and ipv6 reset commands: "Resetting Echo request, failed". What does this mean?

I am about to restart my computer as instructed anyway. Then, I have read that I should try and ping my computer and the gateway so I'm going to give it a whirl.

Edit: so I pinged my computer and got a response so i'm guessing the tcp/ip stack is OK? The next problem I'm having is that there is no gateway listed in my ipconfig result. A quick google of this tells me I need to configure my network card, but I really don't know what I'm doing here so any more help would be very very welcome!!

Thanks again.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,394
There is no Default Gateway because Windows assigned an Automatic Private Internet Protocol Address (APIPA) when no Dhcp server (your landlord's router) failed to provide an IP configuration.

You have narrowed down the possibilities, I think, to a mis-configured or corrupted non-Windows security application or a defective NIC.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top