1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Local Connection Only

Discussion in 'Networking' started by frazcam, Oct 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. frazcam

    frazcam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Hi.

    I share a modem and router with my building, and connect to the internet using an ethernet cable which plus right into the wall in my apartment. A few days ago I was on the internet in the morning, went for lunch, then when I came home could no longer connect. When I hover over the network/internet icon it tells me that I have a local connection only and can't get online. No changes were made to my computer between it working and not working - I have not installed any new software and the modem+router have not been changed. I do not know the name of the isp as it is a Thai company organised and paid for by my landlord.

    I run AVG free, but always have done so don't think that could be the problem. I ran a full system scan and there no problems came up. I have unpowered and restarted the modem and router with no joy. What's weird is I can connect to the same modem/router using the wifi... I really can't understand why. It's not amazing, fails to connect a lot of the time, and disconnects without warning on others; but it IS connecting. On the occasions I have been lucky enough to hold onto the signal I have been able to browse a couple of pages (very slowly). However, it is not the wifi connection that I am worried about, I need the ethernet connection to work as it is the only way I can get anything close to a fast enough connection for my needs. You should also know that my girlfriend can connect with no problems using her mac. I have tried following some advice given to other people experiencing the same problem that I found on other forums but no luck (I'm sorry but I really can't remember what it was and I can't find out what this was exactly as I can't find the web page...something to do with resetting the ip cache in cmd maybe?). I have also followed the advice on this thread with no luck: http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...on-606656.html

    When I try ipconfig/release is says it can't perform the operation while the media is disconnected. It also tells me that "an error occurred while releasing interface Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1: The system cannot find the fie specified". Please let me know if there is anything else you need to know, and I thank you in advance for any help!!

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : z
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TAP-Win32 Adapter V9
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-95-91-19-6E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187SE Wireless LAN PCIE Netwo
    rk Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-5F-7C-36-C6
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
    et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-03-0D-C7-1A-D5
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d429:c444:6998:f382%10(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.243.130(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 167772941
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-0F-56-83-00-03-0D-C7-1A-D5

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{9591196E-666E-4A25-984F-6EAAE4B2A
    D84}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{2938EF79-4D20-4FBB-A290-5FFD39505
    3A5}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,785
    First Name:
    Terry
    I didn't read that other thread, so there may be duplication here ...

    Make sure you have the latest ethernet driver from your PC (or motherboard) manufacturer's web site. If you already have the latest reinstall it anyhow (because the installed instance may be corrupted).

    Make sure the cable is still good (you may have already done so by checking with your girlfriend's computer).

    What security applications (firewall, security suite, anti-virus, etc.) do you have on the machine?

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  3. frazcam

    frazcam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Hi! Thanks for the reply, it's very much appreciated.

    Yes the cable has been checked and is OK. The driver is up to date and I have reinstalled it for good measure - still no luck. The cmd lines you've suggested I run is the same advice I found elsewhere but couldn't remember exactly what I'd done. Thought I'd try it again anyway though, and something else happened this time that I'm fairly sure I didn't see the first time I did it... I got the following error message for the ipv4 and ipv6 reset commands: "Resetting Echo request, failed". What does this mean?

    I am about to restart my computer as instructed anyway. Then, I have read that I should try and ping my computer and the gateway so I'm going to give it a whirl.

    Edit: so I pinged my computer and got a response so i'm guessing the tcp/ip stack is OK? The next problem I'm having is that there is no gateway listed in my ipconfig result. A quick google of this tells me I need to configure my network card, but I really don't know what I'm doing here so any more help would be very very welcome!!

    Thanks again.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,785
    First Name:
    Terry
    There is no Default Gateway because Windows assigned an Automatic Private Internet Protocol Address (APIPA) when no Dhcp server (your landlord's router) failed to provide an IP configuration.

    You have narrowed down the possibilities, I think, to a mis-configured or corrupted non-Windows security application or a defective NIC.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1024803

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice