1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Locked out of Domain: trust relationship

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by fritzleboo, Jul 3, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fritzleboo

    fritzleboo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    I have Windows 2008r2 hosting my domain on a virtual machine. The weird part is that a local username logs into the server housing the virtual machine which houses the domain controller. Since the virtual machine is powered down.. I can't get into the user account (.local) which has the virtual machine. So in stuck. I can get into the Windows Administrator acct on the local machine. Any idea on how I can get to this account?
     
  2. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,672
    Just to ensure I'm understanding this correctly: the 2008R2 is a physical server, which is hosting the DC as a vm?
     
  3. fritzleboo

    fritzleboo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    The main machine is a Dell server running Windows Server 2012. The virtual server is on the desktop of a local account on that machine.. the account is called 'backup' and it connects to an elevated user on the local domain....
    I can't get into the backup account. On the desktop of that account is the VM. The VM needs to be turned on and run windows server 2008 r2. I can only get on a local admin account on the 2012 server and can't login to that backup account!?! The domain controller is on that virtual machine housed on the backup user desktop.
     
  4. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,672
    Did you make the 2012 server a member of the domain?
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    If all the AD controllers are powered down then you shouldn't be having a trust relationship error. The way to get around a trust relationship issue is to disconnect the computer from the network so it uses cached credentials.

    Just an FYI, but this is a badly designed setup.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1212379

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice