1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

locks up on shutdown

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by JOMACK, Nov 15, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JOMACK

    JOMACK Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2001
    Messages:
    64
    Whenever i shutdown my computer it goes to the windows screen where it says windows is now shutting down and it just stays there. It just started a few days ago.. Im running windows 98 SE with an AMD 700 Athlon and 256 mb ram. The problem started shortly after i installed a new mouse. A micro innovations optical scroll mouse.. im not sure if its related to the problem or not. any suggestions are welcome..thanks
     
  2. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    JOMACK
    You may be correct in your assessment. You could try using the old mouse and shutdown since I am not sure you can uncheck the mouse software in the startup group. If problem still persist with the old mouse then let us know and we will give you instructions for a full shutdown check.
    Dave
     
  3. JOMACK

    JOMACK Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2001
    Messages:
    64
    i tried uninstalling the software taht came with the new mouse and shutting down and it still didnt want to..i also tried plugging the old mouse in a shutting down and it still froze. what should i try next?
     
  4. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    jomak
    That would of been to easy the mouse being the culprit.
    Instead of me leading you through it take a look at this MS KB
    article and it will tell you all the steps.
    Click Here for article.
    Keep me posted.
    Dave
     
  5. jmatt

    jmatt

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2000
    Messages:
    844
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/58652

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice