1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Locks Up with Some websites

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by SethR, Aug 11, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SethR

    SethR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Irregular problems are always the hardest:

    Using IE 5.5 SP 2 under Windows 98 SE, IE crashes and sometimes the computer locks up when accessing certain web sites, specifically including Yahoo. This site is no problem. I am using a cable modem, connected to one computer only. I am using McAfee Virus scan on this system, and signatures are updated. Ad_aware is on this system and is run regularly. Although there is a lot of downloaded software on this system, ad supported and spyware programs are avoided completely.

    This problem started within the last week. The cable modem was installed about three months ago and was working perfectly. SP2 was downloaded to try and help the problem; no noticeable difference. Security is set at medium (default). All the items under security are checked appropriately. All cookies, even the useful ones were deleted, and SpiderBite was used to delete the .dat files simultaneously. This helped slightly, because the number of websites that caused crashes was reduced. Defragging the hard drive made no difference. Installing Navigator 4.7 (happen to have that version around) did not change anything, it crashes too.

    Short of reformatting the hard drive, anyone have an idea? Thanks,

    SethR

     
  2. rkselby98

    rkselby98

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Ah don't even think about restoring the system. Have you checked your resourses. Right click on my computer, click on performance tab. If below 70% check your msconfig for programs that start at startup.


    If you don't know how visit my site and it will give you instruction and what a lot of the programs in msconfig are. I'm not sure what system you said your using but I have the instructions for most windows o/s.

    OK win 98se, just go to start run, type in

    msconfig

    Click on the startup tab.

    You can find a listing of most of the programs in msconfig here.

    http://rselby98.go2click.com/Windows.html
     
  3. SethR

    SethR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks,
    I followed through with rkselby's suggestion. Increased my free resources on boot from 66 % to 81 %, but it didn't help my problem.

    I am running a Dell,600MHz Pentium III, 128Meg RAM NVIDA Geforce 256 AGP graphics card.

    All responses are appreciated :)
     
  4. rkselby98

    rkselby98

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Can you tell us anything about what you might have been doing about the time this started. Have you checked for trojans and virus.

    You might want to check these two sites. The first is a free online virus check with the latest definitions. It might find something yours missed. You have to us IE Explorer to use it.

    The second is a 30 free program to check for trojans. Good to check with.

    PC Pitstop antivirus program
    http://www.pcpitstop.com/antivirus/default.asp
    This one is actually better than PC Cillion because it checks all files.


    MooSoft 30 day evaluation program for trojans
    http://www.moosoft.com/features.php
     
  5. Blud_E_Hemmoroid

    Blud_E_Hemmoroid

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    You might have an IE file that has been overwritten by another program. You might try going to Control Panel, and clicking on IE and Remove button. Select the option that says Repair IE. That should restore all the files it created when it installed the first time. As far as Netscape goes, it's buggy and crashes a lot anyway. You might also try disabling or uninstalling McAffee for a while. I have had rotten luck with McAffee, so I switched to Nortons about a year ago. Another problem might be a bad Plug-in that you downloaded. The list goes on and on....

    Good luck!

    Blud
     
  6. SethR

    SethR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Blud,

    I tried the Repair IE thing twice - no help there.

    I tried two different antitrojans, the moosoft and AntiTrojan 5 both crashed the system without completing their analysis.

    I did install software (games) when the problem started, so this may be the problem, but if it is a bad .dll, uninstall probably won't help.

    Any other ideas?

    Thanks

    SethR
     
  7. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,800
    Hiya

    You could always go back to a date when the system was okay, if you do registry backups. Restart in DOS and type scanreg/restore and pick a date before the problem started.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  8. rkselby98

    rkselby98

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    something doesn't seem quite right, Why would a trojan check program crash the system? Not only did one do it but 2 of them did it.

    Eddie you might have an idea there, back date the registry but the problem will still be there. What would happen if you back dated the registry then ran the trojan check programs. If there is something in the registry that was put there to crash the system is it is checked, backing up the date of the registry would remove this so the programs would run.

    What does everyone else think about this.

    Those 2 programs should run without crashing the system.
     
  9. SethR

    SethR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Hello:

    For those who have been following this thread, the problem turned out to be that McAfee Virus Scan got corrupted somehow. After uninstalling this, the problem went away.

    Thanks to all for the help

    SethR
     
  10. rkselby98

    rkselby98

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Wow don't know how you figured that one out. I would never have given it a thought but it is good to know. Thanks for posting back.

    Have a nice day and better surfing now.
     
  11. SethR

    SethR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Hi Rick,

    Actually figured this out because when we tried to shut down after a lock-up, Vshwin32 ( I think that is the correct spelling) was always still on and wouldn't close. Admittedly it was somewhat a long shot to try, but not that high a risk. Probably an incompatability with some newer software (Direct X 8 ?) and the older version of McAfee (4) we had on this system.

    SethR
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/50495