1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Lockup during playback of video and/or screensaver (XP Pro)?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by OOT, Jan 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OOT

OOT Thread Starter

OK. First off let me apologize because I am VERY VERY new to this. I know very little about hardware/software conflicts. I have done a lot of Googling and tryied a lot of different things, but still I'm getting a lockup.

It's a Windows XP SP2 with all current updates. 1 gig RAM, 400 gig SATA HD, AMD Sempron processor and an ECS 755-A2 motherboard.

The system seems to be running OK. I don't have a lot of stuff loaded (other than all Windows updates). I have loaded several anti-spyware (Ad-Aware SE Personal, AVG 7.5 Free, CCleaner, Spybot, SpywareBlaster, StartUp Inspector, SUPERAntiSpyware Free), a DIVX bundle (6.4), Java Runtime Environment, Macromedia Flash Player and Shockwave Player, Firefox 2.0.0.1 and Mozilla Thunderbird 1.5.x). Everything is free except for the DIVX bundle which is paid for.

Initially I kept getting a "disk controller error". And occasional lockups. Then, after much Googling, I downloaded the latest video, sound, lan, raid, ide, bios, flashbios, modem, usb, etc. from the manufacturers websites. I installed, then re-updated Windows (which had nothing new to add).