1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Logging in to a site

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Palustris, Mar 12, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Palustris

    Palustris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4440 CPU @ 3.10GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 8127 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series, -2048 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 111 GB (27 GB Free); E: 931 GB (238 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., H81M-PLUS
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Enabled and Updated
    I am having trouble logging in to a site. I can get in on the front page, but when I move within the site I am shown as logged out and cannot sign in from that particular section.
    Any ideas as to how to proceed?
    TIA
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,442
    provide link for site please
    that is the most important information
     
  3. Palustris

    Palustris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Sorry, Thought I had.
    gardenersworld.com is the website.
     
  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,442
  5. Palustris

    Palustris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Thank-you for trying. That link leads nowhere.
    If it is the signing in section of the gardenersworld.com site I have already tried that a few times.
     
  6. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,442
    It was when I sent it a direct link to the sign in, rather than through the actual site
    I notice that the website design has changed - at least on my browser, since last night
    https://www.gardenersworld.com/

    if you can sign into other https sites, as against http - then the problem is not the security
    This site -
    https://forums.techguy.org/threads/logging-in-to-a-site.1206588/#post-9482658
    as you can see is https and you have obviously signed in here.

    Just in case try the apparently redesigned site, perhaps the webmaster was in the process of redesigning
     
  7. Palustris

    Palustris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Thank-you again.
    Still the same problem. I can sign in on the front page but then am not signed in as I move to the interactive part, ie the Forum. When I sign in there, it just returns to the Sign in page without signing me in.
    Most odd.
     
  8. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,442
  9. Palustris

    Palustris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Been in touch with their Development team and they cannot work out what is going wrong either. No go for Chrome either.
    Only tried IE as a last resort.
    Must be some setting on my machine, but cannot find anything different to before they changed the format of the site last week.
    Very odd.
     
  10. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,442
    Please confirm that I have understood correctly
    You can log-in to the site AND STAY LOGGED IN but if you then go to the forum section of the site you are not then shown as logged in and cannot then sign in
    - is that correct please
     
  11. Palustris

    Palustris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Yes, that is essentially correct. I can Log in on the Front page, move to other parts of the site and still be logged in, but as soon as I go to the Forum section I am no longer Logged in and trying to do so just returns me to the Forum page without me being logged in.
    Thank you for your time and effort.
     
  12. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,442
    Have you checked if this problem exists ONLY on this site
    I just cannot imagine that the problem is with your computer given the circumstances.
    Have a look at the post dated 9 March from UpNorth and the reply
    http://forum.gardenersworld.com/discussion/1010425/update-on-some-known-issues
    Try clearing al your history and cache from Chrome

    IF YOU ARE sure that this is the only website with such a problem then I am convinced it is the site
    and when you say
    clearly they should at least be aware of the problem as, the forum records not only that one post from UpNorth but others of similar problems
     
  13. Palustris

    Palustris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    As I said we use Firefox. Knew about the Chrome issue, they say do not use Chrome for the site. That site is the only one where I am unable to move between sections. Have Cleared the Cache and History and it made no difference.
    Give up now, it is their loss as I was one of their regular contributors, especially in the plant recognition area.

    Really odd. I have just gone to the site and to Forum and find I am actually logged into it, but I have not Signed in at all. Hope I can just stay signed in.

    Thank-you for your hard work.
    Lets hope this is a Solved problem
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2018
  14. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,442
    Well good luck with it
    I have to say I am confused
    I saw the post
    What I never saw until just your last post is
    that you use Firefox - I must have missed it.
    That said I still cannot see it.

    What confuses me even more is that you say- as above -
    and yet the site posts
    That all said sorry I cannot find the reason and hope you get it sorted
    The latest development is even more reason to suspect it is the site causing the problem
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1206588

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice