1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

LogitechDesktopMessenger error window

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by rammer, Jan 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rammer

    rammer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    I know this has been an issue for some of you before but I haven't been able to solve the problem with the info on the old threads. I have a year-old Acer 8103 Laptop that I decided to buy a BlueTooth Mouse for and after installing the Logitech software the mouse works but I get the following popup box at startup and sometimes spontaneously:

    Runner file name (LogitechDesktopMessenger.exe) lacks a '-' (the app id separator)

    I have no success in uninstalling Desktop Messenger. Instead, I get this message:

    setup.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close.

    I'd hate to have to wipe the hard drive on this new computer. I haven't even used it....say 20 times yet and there is nothing installed on it yet except Adobe Reader, Firefox, Webroot SpySweeper, and Logitech. Pretty frustrating. I hope someone can offer help.

    Dave
     
  2. 1101doc

    1101doc

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Is just advertising. All it does is phone home occaisionally to find out if there is something that logitech wants to sell you. One of the main reasons I will not use their products. Have WinPatrol or What's Running (both free) disable the thing from starting with Windows. If you have Zone Alarm, have it "Kill" the process. Sometimes it can't be uninstalled because it's part of the software for your needed product.
     
  3. rammer

    rammer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    I've tried to uninstall it along with all the stuff that came with the mouse but haven't been successful. I'll try the software you recommended..... Thanks,

    Dave
     
  4. jrgalan2

    jrgalan2

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    I have been reading a lot abotu this issue and it seems that everybody got their problem solved excepto me.
    I have done several things to try to fix my problem.
    First the keyboard stopped working a few times to my wife. not to me. suddendly it stopped working at all.
    At thsi point I am controlling my computer via logme in to pass the login password but even after doing a recovery from last week, the keyboard does not work.
    I bought anotehr keyboard and the same...
    It all started with this error message. Any suggestions to get my keyboard working again?
     
  5. 1101doc

    1101doc

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    jrgalan2- Please start your own topic about your problem. You will get a much better response from your own thread.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/535285