1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Logo Help - Adding a logo ontop of an existing background

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by Rrruff, Nov 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rrruff

    Rrruff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    83
  2. lister

    lister

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,993
    You'll have to settle for a raster version if the colour logo - pdf is too large to attach.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Rrruff

    Rrruff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Hey thanks!

    If you wouldn't mind telling me how you got the logo on the background I'd appreciate it. :)
     
  4. caraewilton

    caraewilton

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,352
    Hi. I had a look at your stuff and came up with the following.
    I used the The Gimp. If you don't have it, you can download the latest version from:
    http://www.gimp.org/
    Instructions on exactly what I did, to follow. Just have to figure it out first:)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. caraewilton

    caraewilton

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,352
    Opened the two files in the gimp.
    [File]
    [Open]

    Zoomed in on logo.
    Used ellipse select tool to select circle part of logo.
    Once I had the circle thing selected used [ctrl] + [x] to cut.
    Then clicked on backround and used [ctrl] + [v] to paste the circle thing on the background. Then positioned it.

    For the writing I used the fuzzy select tool. Clicked on black letter, then changed mode to add and clicked on the next letter, repeated processes until all selected.
    Then cut and paste as described above.
    Positioned the text.

    [File]
    [Save]

    With a little playing, can get better results. But this is the easiest way I can think to do this.

    I chose the Gimp, as it is opensource and easily available.

    It is not the easiest programme to learn to use, but worth playing with as it is truelly a powerful application:)

    Good luck.
     
  6. orijimi

    orijimi

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Inkscape is a free vector editor that can handle bitmaps. http://www.inkscape.org

    I used it to make an svg of this thing. I had made a vector copy of the backgound gradient/highlight and border image, but I closed out and forgot to save it, so I just put in the image instead.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. orijimi

    orijimi

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Lister, how did you get the logo down to such a basic set of paths?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/657553

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice