Logon script entry for IE Proxy Settings

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

anton37

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2000
Messages
34
We are using a logon script batch file for people that use a mandatory profile. This script is shared for Win Nt 4.0 workstations as well as Win 95 workstations. What we need to do is add an entry to the logon script that plants the proxy server settings (192.168.65.2 port 80) into Internet Explorer at logon to NT4.0 workstations only. I suspect the script will modify the registry to accomplish this. I don't know the syntax of what to write in the batch file - can anybody help please?

Tony
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2001
Messages
25
interesting question,
must be made possible through policy manager
are your working with nt4.0 server or win2k server ?
 

anton37

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2000
Messages
34
We are using Win NT 4.0 Server. The reason I want to put something in the logon script is I have spent hours trying to figure out where the entry is in ntconfig.pol. Everything was fine until we upgraded IE 5 to IE 6. Now every time a student logs on they have to put the proxy settings in IE to get on the net.

Tony
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2001
Messages
25
do you run microsoft proxy server , if so you could configure those nt workstation with the winsock proxy client to receive automatic browser settings
 

anton37

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2000
Messages
34
Yes we run Microsoft Proxy Server version 1. I will try to install the client and see how we go - will let you know how I get on.

Tony
 

Brooks

Guest
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
2,323
If not , you can go over to http://www.elkantler.net/security/security.htm and download a collection of policy templates that he has gathered from various places. One of those has the settings that will work with the later versions of IE. It is the ieak policy template listed under the zak administration section after you unzip them.
 

anton37

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2000
Messages
34
Installing and using the proxy client doesn't make any difference.

Tony
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2001
Messages
25
i don't understand; with proxy client software for winsock proxy you can define that browser receives automatic configuration. but i can't confirm those settings for proxy 1.0.
 

anton37

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2000
Messages
34
The only entry you can put into the proxy client is the name of the proxy server. I understand that the proxy client associated with proxy 1 only takes the load off the workstation cpu when cached Internet files are accessed. There is going to be a move to ISA server next month, among other changes, so I wonder if it is best to wait and see what can be done then?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top