Long Beep at Computer startup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JCross

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2004
Messages
56
Hi everyone, I have a compaq presario with windows xp home, recently I started receiving a long beep when I started my pc. And sometimes (different lengths of time in use) it would shut down and show black screen. I check out the post beeps and thought my memory might not be working right. I tried to reseat the memory, it seemed to clear the long beep, but then I started to do it again, I went and purchased new memory and still it gives a long beep or shuts down at different times in use. No specific pattern. I did notice a win32 error in the error log report. Any ideas as to what might be causing this problems.

Thanks
Jim
 

JCross

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2004
Messages
56
No, nothing has changed. It's the original parts from purchase. Except the new memory I reinstalled.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2004
Messages
7,800
Open the case back up.

Is there any visible damage to the board? Like a skewed bus line or leaky capaciitor?
 

JCross

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2004
Messages
56
I only have an onboard video card, I just started it up again after reseating the memory to clear the long beep error. I saw a message come up "CMOS checksum error - Defaults loaded" could this have anything to do with this problem?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 1999
Messages
51,022
JCross said:
I only have an onboard video card, I just started it up again after reseating the memory to clear the long beep error. I saw a message come up "CMOS checksum error - Defaults loaded" could this have anything to do with this problem?
As Rich said, may be a bad battery. What I would do is disconnect everything but the hard drive and video and use one stick of memory (if you can) and see if you have the same problem. If so, put the other stick in. At that point, you have pretty much eliminated everything but the MOBO and the power supply.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 1999
Messages
51,022
And of course, you can try a video card and a different power supply (if its not the CMOS battery).

Again--it would be helpful if you would identify you BIOS manufacturer and version.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top