1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Long wait after power on

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by SilverSurf, Oct 29, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SilverSurf

    SilverSurf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    664
    Hello All

    I am new to W10 so don't know if this is normal or not. From pressing the power on button it takes just over three minuets before it's ready for use, is there a reason for this and if so what should I be doing?

    Regards Silversurf
     
  2. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    Please post details of that computer you're running 10 on.
     
  3. SilverSurf

    SilverSurf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    664
    Hello managed - here are the details of my PC, it's a brand new Dell only four weeks old.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-8400 CPU @ 2.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 158 Stepping 10
    Processor Count: 6
    RAM: 8029 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) UHD Graphics 630, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 914 GB (862 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0H4VK7
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled

    The above does not show my Nvidea graphics card with 2Gb on board memory or Bullguard Internet Security.

    Hope this helps you.

    Regards Silversurf
     
  4. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    Please post the service tag.

    Try disabling Bullguard temporarily and see if it boots up faster.
     
  5. SilverSurf

    SilverSurf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    664
    Hello managed - Disabled BullGuard no improvement. Service Tag:- GNS5BR2
     
  6. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    I would go to Dell support and enter your Service Tag then run the Diagnostics shown on the webpage.
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,659
    First Name:
    James
    Did you upgrade to Windows 10?
     
  8. RT

    RT

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,266
    As a side note, unless you have another AV program installed and running, you should enable Defender.
     
    SarahSims likes this.
  9. SilverSurf

    SilverSurf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    664
    Hello Couriant - It's a brand new Dell desktop that came with W10 installed.

    Hello RT - I have BullGuard Internet Security installed.
     
  10. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,659
    First Name:
    James
    Hmm... perhaps the machine has bloatware on there but judging the specs it shouldn't take that long.
     
  11. RT

    RT

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,266
    Agreed Couriant...
    My thought is, yes it's Dell, so does include bloatware... I have a Dell :rolleyes:
    But I've tamed it...

    A Start Up manger program might help (I use Glary Utilities (free) )

    You can also use from the Windows Start button, Start>Run, type msconfig, and OK, and choose the Startup tab... (it might direct you to Task Manager) to disable what you don't need to run at a restart.
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2018
  12. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,659
    First Name:
    James
    I may have to use that on my sons computer... though event he windows setup took way too long to complete... :/
     
  13. SilverSurf

    SilverSurf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    664
    Hello All - I have contacted Dell as I paid for three years Dell Premium Support, on Tuesday 6th November they are going to carry out a remote control of this PC in an attempt to resolve the issue. I will report back here when this has been done. My own personal opinion is that it's loading loads of stuff that is not needed. Being new to W10 I am not sure what should be running and what can be disabled or even deleted.

    Regards Silversurf
     
  14. SilverSurf

    SilverSurf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    664
    Hello All - Dell have carried out a remote connection, they disabled many items and uninstalled some others as the HD was running at 100%. When finished the HD was running at 4% to 5%. They asked to let things settle down for a couple of days and then to contact them again if I am still having problems with a long start up.
     
  15. RT

    RT

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,266
    Hope it works out for you!
    Please let us know how it goes :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1218471

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice