1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Looking For a Graphics Card Upgrade Of My Old PC.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by hpmbot149, Feb 5, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hpmbot149

    hpmbot149 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Looking For a Graphics Card Upgrade Of My Old PC.
    I don't know what type of port I have to do that.
    Please look at those images and help me to identify..... geforce 8400 gs.jpg PORT_IN_MY_MOTHERBOARD.jpg MY_CURRENT_GRAPHICS_CARD.jpg
    My black port can be seen in image two.
    My System Specifications:
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 GHz processor
    DDR2 4GB RAM 536MHz
    Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit and Windows 10 Pro 64 bit dual boot.
    Nvidia GeForce 8400 GS 256 MB DDR2 VGA
    Is the port shown in the image is a PCI-Express slot?
    And what version is it?PCI-Express 1.0 or 2.0 or 3.0?PCI-Express 16 or 8?
    I want to know about it because I think to upgrade to Nvidia GeForce 750 GTX 1GB Card.
    Please help me to identify the port.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Account Closed

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    886
    In your picture....you can see the x16. So it's a PCIe x16 slot. Whether it's 2.0 or 3.0 is unknown as you would have to check your PC or mobo manual for that. My guess would be it's a 2.0. Your choice of a GPU (GTX 750) will physically fit. The question now is; is your PSU big enough wattage wise to handle it. Then minimum wattage for the GTX 750 is 300 watts. You don't list your PSU.
    http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-750/specifications
     
  4. hpmbot149

    hpmbot149 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    aah yes my PSU max w. is 400w.
    It will fit thank you.
    Can you suggest me an Nvidia graphics card which fits my mobo with average price?
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    76,363
    The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 graphics card has an average benchmark score of 3242, so it should be okay for gaming - which I'm guessing is what you want it for.

    There's a problem though with the Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 GHz dual core processor in your computer.
    It has a slow speed and has an average benchmark score of only 1124, so it's going to be a bottleneck for the whole system.

    Your computer is also using slow DDR2-533 MHz memory modules, so that's going to be another bottleneck.

    You didn't provide a brand name and model number of the motherboard, so we don't know fully what upgrade options you have.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    9,998
    Hpmbot149, Hi . there's a few things to discuss here.

    First as Frank noted your CPU is EXTREMELY slow and outdated.

    Second, you're using not only DDR2 RAM, but 533 mhz modules at that.

    Third, using that CPU and RAM combination you will actually notice little to no difference in upgrading to a GTX 750. That card is too new and fast to be properly utilized in your system.

    Now the next question, which games, which like Frank suggested is most likely the reason for the upgrade, are you wanting to play.

    Also you didn't mention the brand name of your PSU so we can't advise on the quality of it.

    If its a cheap lowend unit you will need to upgrade to a better quality unit for gaming.
     
  7. hpmbot149

    hpmbot149 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    like gta4.............
    does the card will fit in my mobo?
    psu:samsung electronics 400w
    please tell me how to install gtx 750 pci e 3.0 card in my pci e 2.0 slot.
    What is backwards installing?How to do that?I have enough length and like to know about it.
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    76,363
    Capture.JPG

    Your computer's processor is too underpowered for it.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    9,998
    Simply put you cannot run that game on that computer unfortunately because your CPU is highly underpowered and is too weak to play that game
     
  10. hpmbot149

    hpmbot149 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Ah kk then I found a rare Core 2 quad processor which compatible with my board in one store.
    He contacted the store which my pc was bought,checked my board and the socket 775,he told it is compatible.
    I will buy it tomorow and connect it.............Will my system be able to hold a GTX 750 even after doing that?
    I think it is.Your ideas?
    The processor I willing to buy is a Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.6GHz.
    Tell me your suggestions about buying it...........
     
  11. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    9,998
    You need to provide the info requested by Frank, such as your make and model number and possibly motherboard number too.

    The reason is because unless your system is a custom built system, it likely has an OEM motherboard which has limited support for CPU upgrades.

    Meaning it WILL physically fit? Yes

    Will it WORK and be usable? Maybe

    Until we know the make and model we cannot confirm that.


    Secondly, the q6600 was a BEAST in its day and yes it will give you a performance boost however it might not work well with that gpu and you also have slow ddr2 533 RAM as well.

    Now you maybe able to upgrade to ddr2 800mhz RAM if the board supports that speed, of the board don't then it would simply throttle it back down to 533mhz.

    As I have states we need more info please.
     
  12. hpmbot149

    hpmbot149 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Motherboard is Samsung Zeus 60 r-1.07 g cornroe support board.
    It is not an OEM Motherboard as I know.
    Are DDR2 800 MHz RAMs exist?please reply soon.
     
  13. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    9,998
    Ok it appears as it should support the quad q6600 or q6700.

    However you would need a different heatsink because the quad CPU uses more POWER and creates more heat. So you would need a HSF with a TDP of 65w to utilize a quad.

    Yea q6600/6700 do still exist mainly online like eBay and Amazon.
     
  14. hpmbot149

    hpmbot149 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    :)thank you............I have noticed a good speed after upgraded my RAM to 4GB regarding your advises.
    Windows Experience Index also has upgraded to 3.0 to 3.6.
    #(1)So should my RAM be 800MHz to give optimal performance of a Quad processor?
    #(2)Are DDR2 1GB 800MHz RAMs exist now?
    #(3)And after I upgraded to a Core 2 Quad cpu,will I be able to hold a GTX 750Ti card?
    Please answer those three questions..........:sick:
    My power supply is 400watts.......
    If you can,please tell me what is backwards compatibility of graphics cards?
    How do I connect PCI -E 3.0 card to a PCI-E 2.0 port on my motherboard?
    After doing that, the DVI port of the graphics card will be inside of the case ......
    Then how to close the case tighting the DVI cable going to monitor?
    Don't try to answer that mad question if you can't..............Please answer at least first three questions ...............
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2016
  15. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    9,998
    #1 your RAM if your board supports it should be atleast 800mhz to support the speeds of the q6600/6700. However depending on your board you may could even use 1066 ddr2 if you can find any.

    #2 like I said above only place you're going to find parts wise for a system this old is likely eBay or amazon.

    #3 the quad will improve performance with the GTX 750 but it will still never run at full strength cause of a bottleneck with the q6600/6700.

    #4 your PSU may need to be upgraded to handle the 750 to and the q6600 as well
     
  16. hpmbot149

    hpmbot149 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Thank you.........
    What cpu can handle a GTX 750Ti card very well?
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1165565