1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Looking for a video card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Descried, Apr 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Descried

Descried Thread Starter

Hello, I'm looking for a video card for my new PC. It is an Asus Essentio CM5571-BR003. The specs are:

Dual-Core Processor: 2.7 ghz
    Ram: 6.00 GB
    64 bit operating system

I'm not very good with computers so I don't know how to find out much else. Will be checking back here soon because I'm pretty sure I didn't add everything. Thanks for your help. Also, for the video card, I want to be able to play l4d2 on it, but I'm worried that if I get a good one (with 1 gig mem) the power supply wouldn't handle it. Would a 512 MB be good enough for newer games? I plan on playing FFXIV when it comes out, too. Thanks again.

2. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
    The amount of RAM does not determine if a card is good or not. A lot of cards sell with 1GB that are not gaming cards or close too it, its a marketing ploy. An identical card that uses 512MB or 640MB or 1GB of RAM will have nearly identical power requirements.

You'll need a new power supply for any decent mid or high level card. The unit only has a 300 watt power supply.

Whats you budget?

3. Descried

Descried Thread Starter