Looking for an external CD-RW (USB 2.0)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JohnO28356

I have a pretty basic HP model 8230e CD-RW (USB 1.0) that I've been using for back-up, etc, for maybe 3 years and it's always worked great. I kept it after I switched to XP since HP came out with drivers. However, change is needed. I was feeling nostalgic this afternoon, and signed up for the Rhapsody music service, selected my music, and clicked burn. After Rhapsody's Wizard checked out my CD-RW, CD etc, it told me I should burn at 1x (Buffer??). That's really unacceptable, so-- what to get? I hear the 52x RW's sometime shatter disks, so how about 48x? Will that do it for me? I have space for an internal drive. My Comp: XP Home, sp1. P4 2.40ghz, 512 RAM. Would really appreciate some recommendations. Thanks.

I've used and "sold" Liteon's External drive. The 24X model. It was a nice drive, 24X was fast enough for most people and it sure did get shared alot between alot of laptop users....It's been a durable unit to the best of my knowledge.

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
FWIW, you can buy a standard CD-RW drive for $10-20 after rebate, and put it into a $30 USB 2.0 case and accomplish your goal very inexpensively. :)

Well I'm glad I read this post!
I didn't even know that you could do that.
I'm gonna' have to do some research to find that USB 2.0 case you mentioned.
That's gonna save me a ton of money!!

Thanks!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!