1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Looking for eMachines 730 XP drivers

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Crazy10, May 23, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Crazy10

    Crazy10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    Right now, I'm not on the eMachines so I can't post the TSG SysInfo.

    I have an eMachines 730 computer without the recovery discs (I lost them), I'm prepared to do a full reinstall of XP Home Edition (the disc contains SP2) which I have and is genuine. My only concern is I don't think XP has the drivers integrated into setup and I spoke to eMachines about finding the drivers however they said that the computer came out in 2001 and is discontinued! It is for that reason that I turn to you!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
  3. Crazy10

    Crazy10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    I tried that before and it didn't find it.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,623
    First Name:
    Frank
    Do you actually have an eMachines D730/E730 laptop?

    Do you actually have an eMachines ET1730 desktop?

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Crazy10

    Crazy10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    Not a laptop but a desktop. It just says eMachines 730 on the front of the case.
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,623
    First Name:
    Frank
    There's no serial number or SNID number on it?

    I've browsed through every series for an eMachines desktop and can't find "730" in any list.

    ---------------------------------------------------------

    I'm guessing at this point that yours has 3 memory slots and uses PC133 modules.

    Most of the old eMachines desktops that I've dealt with in the past have Intel graphics and Realtek audio and Intel ethernet.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Crazy10

    Crazy10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    Turned out there is, but it's hard to see.

    It came with a Pentium 4 at 1.5 Ghz, SoundMAX Integrated audio, Nvidia graphics and Realtek ethernet!
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,623
    First Name:
    Frank
    It's my guess it has Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet.

    Windows XP drivers should be easily obtainable on-line for all 3 devices.

    -----------------------------------------------------------

    If your disc contains Windows XP Home Edition SP2 (and you have a legal product key to activate it), you need to do the following afterwards in the order that they're listed:

    Install the full SP3 upgrade.

    Install Internet Explorer 8.

    Install the most current cumulative security update for Internet Explorer 8.

    Go to the Windows Update site and do a "custom" scan, then install the initial required updates.

    Do another "custom scan", then install the 100+ high-priority updates.

    Note: Do NOT install any programs and add-ons until AFTER Windows XP is completely up-to-date.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. Crazy10

    Crazy10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    The Serial number is QDU1B 103 00306 with the part number being 507969. It also has the OEM key for XP Home Edition without any Service Packs, and a key for PowerDVD!
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,623
    First Name:
    Frank
    If that disc has the ORIGINAL version of Windows XP Home Edition, I'm not sure if the SP3 upgrade will install afterwards.

    All you can do is try and see what happens.

    Here is the download link for the full 316 MB-size SP3 upgrade.

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. Crazy10

    Crazy10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    The disc has SP2, but the key on the back of the tower is the eMachines key for XP Home without a service pack.
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,623
    First Name:
    Frank
    Okay, good. You had me confused.

    You still need the full SP3 upgrade.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1126534

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice