1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Looking to chat with someone about OCing (new here xD)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BeanageD, May 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BeanageD

BeanageD Thread Starter

Hey guys Im just newly registered, and I have read the rules and stickeys... I was originally hoping to find a chat area but am happy to post here so long as Im in the right area xD

Anyway, I have a couple Video cards im fiddling with in my system and am curious about any firsthand experience any of you might have had OC'ing any of these bits.
    I am a tech student, and quite literate but am relatively new to overclocking.
    I have done my homework, reading much on the parts im using, the software (monitoring and Control)
    but have only been able to get "so far" by reading or talking to tech supports incall operators xD

I've been getting some results before I started any hardware adjustments that are well, damn mind boggling, im happy to attatch reports upon request but here are some short but sweet overview of some results listed after my rig specs:

Asus P4C800 Deluxe w/P4 3.4ghz HT
    2g DDR2 @ 400mhz
    ThermalTake PurePower 420watt max PSU
    Win Vista 32bit no Service pack(also have XP sp3, and Ubu 8.04 on other partitions but been only using vista for continuity sake)

mainly Ive been getting crazy temps on my Nvidia 7600gt agp512 (stock fan)
    after much reading about others with similar setups some of the highest temps I've read about are 80-85 celcsius under load... That being said these are my temps:
    54 celsius at idle(reported by rival tuner and speedfan)
    95-100 celsius under load!