1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Looking to learn to program?

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by james221, Sep 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. james221

james221 Thread Starter

Hi there, i want to start programming, with the basics. I am planning to do Computer science at Uni next year, but i dont want to do it without any programming experience. So, where do i start? Some say its good to start with java, what are your opinions?

Thanks.

2. Ent

Ent Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Josiah
    What level of experience do you have already?

3. james221

james221 Thread Starter

Not much, used to play around with python, but that was a while ago so treat me like a complete beginner :)

4. Ent

Ent Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Josiah
    If you have access to and familiarity with Python, that would be a great place to start.
    In fact it's the first language a lot of universities teach, even up to MIT.

My suggestion is that you set yourself a simple project, break it down, and try to find out how to solve each little problem.
    If you get stuck or can't work something out, feel free to ask for help.

5. james221

james221 Thread Starter

Any suggestions for a " simple project "? Thanks for help so far.

6. Ent

Ent Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Josiah
    That's really something you'd need to decide for yourself, since things you find interesting will be far better motivators.
    Nearly everyone suggests getting it to print out "Hello World", just to check you have the compiler set up correctly.
    Simple text based games are fairly easy; things like "Guess the number.", to get the basics of I/O and conditionals.