1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Lose connection about every 10-15 min!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by kempryan28, Apr 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kempryan28

    kempryan28 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    I keep getting kicked off of the internet, it seems to happen about once every 15 minutes or so and I can't figure out why. I don't know if I'm losing the connection or what but it just freezes and goes through the whole program not responding/end now protocol and shuts down internet explorer. It gets rather annoying while surfing to have to restart ie so often. The problem probably stems from some antivirus that my mom put on here and messed up a few different things on my computer, however I have sense removed that software and gone back to my old antivirus but this problem still persists!

    Can anyone help me?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    can you describe how you are connected - all the componets make/models and cables - USB /LAN/wireless



    can you do the following tests when its working and then repeat them all when disconnected

    Post back the results of all the test - clearly labeled which is which - ie connected OK and disconnected

    its important to do all the ping tests

    1) Ping the default gateway
    2) ping google.com by the name
    3) ping google using IP address

    all details below


    ipconfig /all

    TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

    ONE ---------------------------------
    start
    run
    cmd
    ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    TWO -----------------------------------------------

    Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.


    NEXT lets see if you can get out onto the internet with both names and IP's - its possible the IP number you get back on the first test is different to the one I post {I'm in UK} so use the number you get instead of mine

    ------------------------------------------------
    try ping the name and then the IP see below

    start
    run
    cmd

    C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping {the default gateway ipaddress you got above }


    C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping google.com
    C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping 64.233.187.99
     
  3. kempryan28

    kempryan28 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    It’s a wireless network run through an Apple wireless router, we have two PC’s hooked up to it and one laptop with one wireless signal booster. To my knowledge this is the only computer that is having trouble. Also this computer is the remote one (meaning that the networks router is hooked up right next to the other PC).


    #1 Connected

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Bob Kemp>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : kemp-w54jlolz3o
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link AirPlus DWL-G520 Wireless PCI
    Adapter(rev.B) #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-3D-AC-69-B0
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, May 02, 2007 6:50:21 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, May 02, 2007 10:50:21 PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Bob Kemp>



    #2 connected

    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : kemp-w54jlolz3o

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link AirPlus DWL-G520 Wireless PCI Adapter(rev.B) #2

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-3D-AC-69-B0

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.2

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, May 02, 2007 6:50:21 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, May 02, 2007 10:50:21 PM


    #3 Connected

    I don’t know what I’m doing wrong here can you help me try and ping the three with a bit more detail? I typed what you told me to and this is what I was getting if it helps you at all…

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Bob Kemp>C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping10.0.1.2
    'C:\Documents' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Bob Kemp>C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping {10.0.1.
    2}
    'C:\Documents' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Bob Kemp>C:documentsandsettings\wayne>ping{10.0.1.2}
    The system cannot find the path specified.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Bob Kemp>



    Thanks for your help and I look forward to a reply,
    Ryan Kemp
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    just type

    ping 10.0.1.2
    ping 10.0.1.1
    etc

    so the problem is on the remotest computer on the end of a signal boaster

    download this software - lets see if other networks on same channel may interfer and if the signal is dropping - you can tell buy looking at the graph display for a pruple line

    Free software to check signal strength of wireless is netstumbler 0.4.0 available for download from http://www.stumbler.net/

    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Network-Tools/Network-Monitoring/NetStumbler.shtml

    http://www.netstumbler.com/downloads/

    http://www.techspot.com/downloads/303-netstumbler.html
     
  5. kempryan28

    kempryan28 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    I tried the stumbler and all it does is flash "no AP's Active" at the bottom of the screen... any other thoughts?
     
  6. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    Hi,

    ETAF probably won't be back untill a few more hours.

    Let me make sure I undredtand what is going on.
    You have two computer that are wired to the router and work.

    You have one laptop that you try connect wirelessly via a signal booster and won't work.

    It that the case?


    ...................

    Well looks like you left. Hopefuly they will continue with your case first thing tommorow. See you later
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    if you could confirm invalidusername question..

    no wireless being picked up at all....

    whereas your original problem statement - started you where disocnnected every 15 mins or so

    if netstumbler is not picking up any wireless signal then you need to find out why ..

    does the laptop work flawlessly next to the main wireless router ??
     
  8. wingkiller1990

    wingkiller1990

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    mate if you click on devices there mite be more then one and try them all thats how i got it to work 4 me
     
  9. kempryan28

    kempryan28 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    The system is a total of three computers 2 PC's and one laptop... Computer #1 is right next to the router (and I think wired directly to it... not sure though) and works online great... I never lose connection. Computer #2 is a PC that is connected wirelessly in a different part of the house this is the one that is having the issues, now losing connection more frequently. Computer #3 is a laptop connected wirelessly that quite honestly is never on and probably hasn't been on for months now. Is that more clear if not ask then I attempt to clarify it further.
    And I just checked netstumbler again and it still says no ap's available. Even when I know I have a signal because I am typing this e-mail?
    Could the problem be from the antivirus that computer #1 has on it now... the same antivirus that was installed on this computer that I took off because it started all of this in the first place?
     
  10. kempryan28

    kempryan28 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    I figured out how to ping google.com the results from that test are as follows


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Bob Kemp>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [64.233.187.99] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=83ms TTL=244
    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=82ms TTL=244
    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=81ms TTL=244
    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=82ms TTL=244

    Ping statistics for 64.233.187.99:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 81ms, Maximum = 83ms, Average = 82ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Bob Kemp>
     
  11. kempryan28

    kempryan28 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    also other results from ping tests

    10.0.1.2 results

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Bob Kemp>ping 10.0.1.2

    Pinging 10.0.1.2 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 10.0.1.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 10.0.1.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 10.0.1.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 10.0.1.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 10.0.1.2:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Bob Kemp>



    10.0.1.1 results;



    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Bob Kemp>ping 10.0.1.1

    Pinging 10.0.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 10.0.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 10.0.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 10.0.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 10.0.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 10.0.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Bob Kemp>
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    so you only have one PC connected wirelessly
    it could be interference - have you tried the PC next to the router and see if it still stays on

    it may just need a channel change in the router
     
  13. remaja

    remaja

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    513
    As I have posted on another thread, this could be a problem with the WEP encryption.

    I Used to have a 128bit wep encryption key. and had the same problem like you do. that's because it's unstable and often gets timed out when trying to connect.

    now I'm lowering it down a 64 bit.

    this could be a country/region thing. almost everyone ion my country uses a 64 bit and having a 128 is often unstable. i say that because I don't know why they do a 128bit. for the average home user.
     
  14. kempryan28

    kempryan28 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Yeah it stays on... I can surf for hours on it with no interuption. It's just this computer that does it.

    any other ideas?
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    i meant move the problem computer physically to next to the router
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/568418