1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Lose my data?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Gloucesterkiwi, Sep 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gloucesterkiwi

    Gloucesterkiwi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    If I have a Siemens AMILO laptop with HDD partioned C: & D: with all data on the latter, will it be affected if I do a OS repair using manufactuers disc from boot?
     
  2. Courtneyc

    Courtneyc

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,936
    Normally, yes. If you use the manufacturer's disk to repair your system, it will put it back to the way it was when you purchased the laptop. This includes wiping out any partitions that were not there when you got the laptop

    The manufacturer's CD is an image of the drive. If there were empty partitions when you got the laptop, they will normally be emptied if you restore it.

    Courtney
     
  3. Gloucesterkiwi

    Gloucesterkiwi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks for your speedy answer.

    I have another question. The issue I have with the computer is that it takes me straight to the manufacturers 'repair' option on boot. I've tried the only other choice ie 'load windows as normal' option - and, the sequence takes me back to the 'repair' option.

    I guess this means that there is a probelm with the active partition.

    When I useed a boot disc and explorer to check the drive and partitions, I found that there is an issue with C: whereby it is not registering correctly ie although its 'there', it has no size or data shown on it. I guess its corrupt in some way.

    So, the question I have is there anything I could try to fix the partition before resorting to the manufacturers 'repair' approach.
     
  4. Gloucesterkiwi

    Gloucesterkiwi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Anyone with some advice on this one - I am really stuck and would appreciate some help.
     
  5. Gloucesterkiwi

    Gloucesterkiwi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Would someone kindly advise me how to use NTFSCHK to check the file structure on my C: drive - which I think must be corrupted.

    My bootup is looping, I cannot get the system to boot to the last good config or to safe mode.

    As a last resort to save my data I am now trying anything and everything that may help.

    Somehow I need tpo be able to create a bootable CD with NTFSCHK on it.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/753771

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice