1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Lose wifi connection after exactly 10 minutes

Discussion in 'Networking' started by lionlopez, Nov 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lionlopez

    lionlopez Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hi everyone,
    I really need some help Please!

    I have a very well updated Laptop running XP well patched with IE7.
    I have run all the malware scans and there is nothing wrong on the PC.

    After exactly 10 minutes of the PC being on, wireless internet connection is lost, BUT:

    Signal Strength states "Excellent"

    I can't access any website at all on the web. (Except for "Facebook" for some odd reason?) I can't access it
    after the 10 minute mark but if I'm already on it, I can navigate thru it's site without being disconnected, don't
    ask me why

    I have tried the following:

    - Dynamic and Static IP setting
    - Turned on and off windows firewall and rebooted each time
    - Ran all kinds of malware detection and virus scans
    - Disabled power management on network card
    - I've tried different PCs on the same network and they're fine
    - Tried ipconfig release and renew
    - Tried repair connection
    - Tried netsh reset
    - Tried FireFox and other browers
    - Logging off and back in doesn't help, must restart the computer to get another 10 minutes

    I'm at wits end, Please Help!
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,819
    First Name:
    Terry
    And when you use an ethernet instead of wireless connection?
     
  3. lionlopez

    lionlopez Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Same 10 minutes.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,819
    First Name:
    Terry
    Possibly a corrupted non-Windows firewall or security suite. What one is, or was, on the machine?

    Unless that leads us somewhere productive I suggest trying a Repair Install or a format and clean install of Windows.
     
  5. lionlopez

    lionlopez Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I have reloaded xp from the disc. It comes with "zone alarm" which seems to be causing problems?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,819
    First Name:
    Terry
    then uninstall ZoneAlarm.
     
  7. lionlopez

    lionlopez Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    easier said then done, it wont let me, even in safe mode
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025335

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice