1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Loss of Wireless Connectivity/Limited Connectivity

Discussion in 'Networking' started by phaedrus55, Jan 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. phaedrus55

    phaedrus55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Hello, I have been having a problem recently with my desktop's wireless connections. I know the hardwire connections worked without a problem while I was living on campus but while I am at home on winter break I have to rely on a wireless setup. The machine's specs are listed next to my profile name, and I am using a Linksys wireless-N receiver and router. What happens is once I log on and the machine boots up it automatically connects to my secured and encrypted connection with full signal strength and pretty good speed. It is capable of full internet connectivity and web browsing, but it often fails after a while.

    I have had this problem for a couple weeks, ever since I moved out of my dorm. My brother uses the same USB receiver and we tried switching out the adapters with the same result so I am also fairly certain the adapter is not the cause here. Typically, if I only browse the web the connection has no problems, but if I try to connect to Steam or use Himachi to connect to a LAN with some friends the signal changes from high strength to limited connectivity and displays the yellow triangle/exclamation point icon on the task tray. Once this occurs I am unable to connect to the internet whatsoever, though the signal strength from my router is still very strong. I live in an apartment and my room is right next to where the router is located with only a wall getting in between the adapter and router, so I don't think that's an issue either. Oh, and there is no difference whether I plug the adapter into my desktop or the little extension USB port it came with. I checked my IPv4 settings and there's no static IP or anything, it's set to acquire everything it needs automatically. Every time the issue occurs my PC has failed to shutdown or restart properly, getting hung up on the Shutting Down screen no matter how long I wait.

    That's basically the situation I'm in and I hope someone can help me resolve this issue. Could there be a problem with my router's configuration? My laptop has no connection issues but I also do not use it for the kinds of connections that have been causing the desktop's connection to fail, only basic web browsing. Power cycling also does not fix the problem and I don't have much networking expertise so I would really appreciate any help in discovering a way to fix this. I don't know if it's related, but lately my machine also started to detect and fail to find drivers for a couple ESET Personal Firewall Miniports.

    Cheers,
    Phaedrus55
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Download and run this Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector, post a screen shot of the main screen here. Please also identify the SSID of your network so we can evaluate the results.


    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  3. phaedrus55

    phaedrus55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Thanks JohnWill, I appreciate it and will definitely do that, but I have one question before I run the test. Should I run it while it has a connection to the internet and router, or when it's only connected to the router without the internet?
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Either way, it just does a site survey and tells about the wireless environment.
     
  5. phaedrus55

    phaedrus55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Alright here's the initial result from when I started the program. I had to restart so that it could connect because with no connection I got no results. My network's SSID is Browncoats at the top of the list.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I'd try updating the wireless drivers. I don't see a reason why this shouldn't work. There is a weak network on the same channel, but there's not a better place to move to, both channel 6 and 11 already have a strong signal from other wireless networks.

    One thing I'd do is download and install the latest drivers for your wireless NIC.

    The only other thing that comes to mind is updating the firmware on the router and doing a factory reset and reconfiguration.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/891180

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice