1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

lost 33gb of hdd but it still says 160gb in bios

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by will182, Feb 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. will182

    will182 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,149
    i have a 160gb hdd and i have lost 33gb of it but i went to look in bios and it still says it is a 160gb hdd so how do i get that lost 33gb back
     
  2. lola2001

    lola2001

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,972
    What do you mean you "lost it"? Can you elaborate?
     
  3. will182

    will182 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,149
    well when i look at hdd properties it says that i only have a maximum capacity of 127gb but before i restored the computer i have a capactity of 150gb so whats happend
     
  4. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,951
    What OS?
     
  5. will182

    will182 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,149
    windows xp pro
     
  6. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,951
    What does disk management show? Any unpartitioned space?
     
  7. will182

    will182 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,149
    were is disk managment
     
  8. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    After the reformat did you reinstall SP1?
     
  9. lola2001

    lola2001

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,972
    Control Panel>Administrative Tools> Computer Management >Disk Management > Something like that, depending on the OS
     
  10. will182

    will182 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,149
    no i have never had service pack 1 and i still had 150gb maximum capacity
     
  11. Seventjah

    Seventjah

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    i think that you have to download a patch for you HD, iirc there is a max HD size in windows.. you need to go to the website of your HD and just download! :)
     
  12. will182

    will182 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,149
    lol i have its a samsung hdd and i cant find anything for the hdd but there is a number on my hdd thats says this sp1604n could someone find some info on this beocuse i have not being able to so far
     
  13. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,951
    This was answered but check to see if windows is seeing anything that isn't partitioned.

    Control Panel>Administrative Tools> Computer Management >Disk Management
     
  14. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Try installing SP1 and see if the problem is still there, especially if you check disc management without the solution.
     
  15. will182

    will182 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,149
    no it diddent work
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/328211

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice