1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Lost all sound on my computer

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by steelegal, Jan 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. steelegal

steelegal Thread Starter

I'm running a Dell Dimension XP 2007 Home addition. I am also a beginner and not a computer geek. However, I'm not afraid to get at it and figure things out. After upgrading with Windows latest Internet Browser 7 my computer was so slow, it was like dial up. I ran "My Faster PC" and "Reg Cure" which didn't help much. I then ran "Uniblue Driver Scanner" and after downloading about 20+ driver updates, things started humming again. However, I have no sound. I've checked all the plug ins and they appear secure. HELP!

2. karbo

karbo Banned

Be sure you have the right sound card driver. Another thing, don't run any registry cleaners as they can do more harm than good.

3. steelegal

steelegal Thread Starter

Thanks Karbo, how do I check to see if I have the right sound card driver? Can I download a new sound card driver for my PC?

4. SUEOHIO

SUEOHIO

First Name:
    SUE
    u can try going to the dell website which is dell support and look for the specific drivers for your dell model computer. that way u will get all of the correct ones u need.hope this helps u.

5. gdi1942

gdi1942

Check the status of the sound device in the device manager. if the status is normal you could try to rollback the sound driver. Go into the device manager, under the Sound, Video and Game controllers subtree, find the device that looks like your sound device's name. Right click it and go properties, select the driver tab, and select rollback.