lost cd rom on divice manager! help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rkdrinnin

Hey, after fdisk with boot disc my cd drive and cd rom controller is missing on divice manager. I have the install disk for the cd drive but it wont boot. I use win 98se. I'm not a pro so I'm kinda leary of guess work. can you help?

Lord Yorien says:

Check my reply on THIS TOPIC. Maybe it can help. Since you're using '98, some directions will be missleaded, but can give you ideas. Specially check the BIOS.

Lord Yorien Dragonard

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Do the drives appear in the bios setup? Also,I've moved you to hardware for better assistance.

Lord Yorien says:

Ok, Now about the BIOS...

If the CD-ROM is not listed on the Device Manager, you'll have to check the BIOS. Don't worry, you won't mess the BIOS unless you make changes and chose to SAVE the BIOS Settings. If you just look, you cannot mess anything.

Since every system is different,I'll only be able to give you directions, but you'll find it's "easy" to check the BIOS

1-. You should see the type of computer you're using. You may either have a "corporate" (a computer fully made by HP, DELL, COMPAQ, IBM, etc...) or a "clone" (a computer created by custom parts - i.e. motherboard by Asus, ATI video Card, Amd processor, Cooler by Coolsystems... - the kind of computer you buy from computer stores). I mean this because "Clones" use a BIOS created by the motherboard manufacturer, while "Corporates" use a BIOS created by the company that designed the computer. You'll commonly have a "clone".