1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Lost Computer on Office Network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sherry104, Feb 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sherry104

    sherry104 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    I just upgraded from Win NT to Win2000. We moved the computer from the center cubicle to another office. The computer that is now in the center cubicle is no longer listed in the Entire Network. How do I map this computer so that it can access information from the Server (aka: Server01 on Drive E)?
    Thanks for your recommendations.

    Sherry
     
  2. austinguy

    austinguy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Do you have a domain controller on your network? If so, you need to join your computer to the domain in order to be listed on the network.

    Even if you didn't join the computer to the domain, you should be able to map to the server if it is, in fact, on your network. Open "My Computer" and type "\\server01\<shared folder>" where <shared folder> is the name of the folder you're trying to access and hit <enter>. If your server is a Windows 2000 (or above) server, it should ask you for a username/password. Type a username and password that has access to the server, and put a check mark next to "remember password" and you should be able to connect to the server every time.

    Another possibility is that you need to install the proper device driver for your network card. Go to Start -> Settings -> Control Panel, double click on System, and click on the Hardware tab. Click on Device Manager and see if you have any items in the list that have yellow exclamation points next to them. If you do, that means you're missing some drivers.

    Check your Ethernet cables and make sure it's snug and that you don't have a "a network cable is unplugged" message in your taskbar.

    There are several other possibilities, but see if these work out for you.

    Regards,
    Tom
     
  3. sherry104

    sherry104 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    I am new at this, but I will try your first suggestions. Thanks.
    Sherry
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/328144

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice