1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Lost Connection "Media Disconnected" All Other Computers Work Fine

Discussion in 'Networking' started by gj-glow3bears, May 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gj-glow3bears

    gj-glow3bears Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    So I finally fixed the crash my computer did yesterday.

    But as expected, after the updates, the internet connection died.

    We have 3 laptops, and one desktop. 2 of the laptops are Dell Inspiron 6000s, my brother's and mine, and another one is an ASUS. The desktop is an EMachine.

    All three of the other computers are working the internet fine, then mine:

    1: When I double-click the wireless network Im connecting to under "View Available Wireless Networks", it'd say "Waiting to connect..." then "Connected!" But when I refresh after it's "connected!", it would say "Not connected" next to the network name. =/

    2: It would get stuck in "Acquiring Network Address".

    3: It wouldn't end up at "Connected!" at all.

    4: This was a problem a few days ago. It'd stay connected for a few minutes, then disconnect. But since my computer crashed, and I rebooted the computer with the recovery disk, it would just stay disconnected.

    5: It would get stuck in "Repair" But under the "Disabling" step.

    6: We ran ipconfig, and it said that the Media was disconnected, and it came up with the 0.0.0.0 ip address.

    Help? ><

     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    First, I'd suggest you not use the formatting options to scatter the text all over the screen, it makes it very hard to read.

    Are there any errors in Device Manager? If the NIC shows up there with no errors, let's try this:

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  3. gj-glow3bears

    gj-glow3bears Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Heh, Yeah sorry about that. I forgot about the formatting. =/

    Anyway, I'll go try that right now.
     
  4. gj-glow3bears

    gj-glow3bears Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    When I type in netsh int ip reset reset.log, is anything supposed to show up under it?
     
  5. gj-glow3bears

    gj-glow3bears Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Alright, I entered the two, but my internet STILL is not connecting. =[
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    Make sure you have the latest driver for your wireless adapter. From Dell's web site if the wireless is integrated.
     
  8. gj-glow3bears

    gj-glow3bears Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Yes, I have recently installed the latest driver for the adapter. =/

    Host name.......: GLENNDP
    Primary Dns Suffix.........:
    Node Type........: Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled.........: No
    WINS Proxy Enabled.........: No

    Ethernet Adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State.........: Media Disconnected
    Description..........: Intel<R> PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection
    Physical Address........: 00-13-CE-2E-DB-A9
     
  9. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    Start-Run then type CMD
    then type

    PING 127.0.0.1

    What do you get?
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    With that wireless adapter I recommend using the Intel utility rather than Windows XP's WZC. Since you are having troubles, try it.
     
  11. holyhunter75

    holyhunter75

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Try this Brother.

    Resolving Cable, DSL, or Other Broadband Internet Connection Problems (XP):
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...392&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&jumpid=reg_R1002_USEN#

    Troubleshooting network connection problems:
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/networking/maintain/troubleshoot.mspx#top

    Set up a wireless network:
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/networking/setup/wireless.mspx

    Set up a wired network:
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/networking/setup/wired.mspx#top

    Troubleshoot device driver problems:
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/setup/support/driver.mspx#top

    May God Bless you,
    Take care,
    Holy Hunter
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/574808