1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Lost internet connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by snusseex, Apr 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. snusseex

    snusseex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Hi there, I have lost my internet connection. I am running Win 98 with ADSL. I have a D-Link DFE 538 NIC, a D-Link 300 ADSL modem and a D-Link 604 router. I was on the internet and left for a few minutes, when I returned could not connect any longer with browser or email. So far I have tried rebooting computer, checked cable connections, released and renewed IP address, moved network card to different PCI slot, replaced network card and reloaded drivers but nothing has worked. Device manager says device is working properly. I did an internal loop ping and it says it is sending and receiving. I'm not sure what else to try. Could it be a defective modem?
    Thanks.
     
  2. scottosan

    scottosan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    How about calling your ISP
     
  3. Bamby

    Bamby

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Just to let you know that you are not the only one who suffers this kind of thing. Leave the computer for a few hours or more and try again. This strangely enough can work wonders for the pc.
    I think it reflects poorly on the Industry though.
    My last Internet connection was dial up and the monthly downloads looked more like a weekend with Bill Gates.
    Call your ISP and post here what they say.
     
  4. snusseex

    snusseex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    After much headache and trial and error, finally up and running again. Moved NIC to third PCI slot and was able to connect at work. Reconnected at home but lost browser connectivity after 5 mins. Contacted ISP, reset IP address, reset modem again, pinged some sites and everything was fine on their end. Finally uninstalled Zonealarm which solved the problem (even though it had been disabled, was still blocking http). Have reinstalled and all is well. Thanks for the posts.
     
  5. Bamby

    Bamby

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Glad to hear that the work site is better.
    That zone alarm can be a real *****!!!!
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/223226

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice