1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Lost Network connection

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by pclarejnr, Jan 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pclarejnr

    pclarejnr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Hi all,

    firstly i have looked over a stupid amount of forums and posts etc about this problem, I have determined that it must be individual to my pc (i.e wireless card needs to visit the recyclers), I hope not :-(,

    I have my main Pc on wireless to my SKY router (D_Link) I think

    I tried to install malaware bytes, following the restart I lost connection to the internet :mad: although the wireless is connected to the router :confused:

    Here's what i've tried so far :

    System Resore
    Unable to roll back device driver
    flush / renew dns
    disable & Uninstall Broadcon 802.11g Network Adapter #2
    disable firewalls etc
    Diagnose results : there might be a problem with the driver for the wireless Network Connection 2 adapter

    here is my ipconfig report:


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Home>ipconfig /All

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Home-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



    Please help I hate being demoted to the laptop :(

    regards

    Pete
     
  2. daz1

    daz1 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,664
    hi bit nervous when you say TRIED to install malwarebytes? why try ?? if a problem installing it then very likely you have a bug as many bugs out there know malware bytes can kill them so they block it

    if you think a bug click report bitton and ask to move to spyware forum if not carry on !!! :)
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,256
    First Name:
    Terry
    There is no evidence of any networking hardware in your ipconfig.

    What is listed in Device Manager under Network Adapters? What errors or warnings are anywhere in Device Manager?
     
  4. pclarejnr

    pclarejnr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Errmm,

    Malawarebytes successfully installed onto the system, however I installed from an icon which has been on the desktop for some time:eek:, I just thought I'd install and it would pick up the update following the restart hmmmm :eek:,I have run malawarebytes and it found 6 infections (which it successfully removed), to no avail,

    There are no abnormalities in device manager

    under Network adapters it shows

    Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter #2
    NVIDIA nForce Networking controllers

    I was thinking of installing a new download of malawarebytes on the laptop and ad hoc the laptop to the main pc running a network check, but if I did it might knock out the laptop (serious tears would flow then)

    regds

    Pete
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,256
    First Name:
    Terry
    Does the wireless and/or ethernet connection show in Network Connections? If so, if disabled then enable it/them and try the ipconfig /all again.
     
  6. pclarejnr

    pclarejnr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    everything is enabled , I have disabled and enabled them again still not working :(

    Pete
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,256
    First Name:
    Terry
    And still none show up in the ipconfig /all?

    You could try the below repairs, but if that doesn't fix things I think you need to at least do what this thread says and then request a move to Virus & Other Malware Removal forum or else format the partition and install or "Recover" Windows.

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Lost Network connection
  1. bsacco
    Replies:
    38
    Views:
    978
  2. Vettepartz
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    157
  3. Ken_RM

    Solved lost data

    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    383
  4. Ipman55
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    246
  5. wanlindjo
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    599
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/973423

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice