Lost Preview in Fax Console

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rwrussell

Thread Starter
Joined
May 17, 1999
Messages
75
I'm using the Fax Console (version 5.1, SP1) in XP Home to receive faxes on my computer. I use to be able to double click the entry in the Fax Console and the fax would open up in a viewer from which I could view, manipulate, print etc. Suddenly the viewer no longer opens and my only option is to right click on the entry and print it.

Any ideas? Thanks!
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
Did you recently apply Microsoft's security patches? I see one that relates to the Fax Console, and it may have broken your display. If you applied it, you might try removing it.
 

rwrussell

Thread Starter
Joined
May 17, 1999
Messages
75
Windows XP is setup to update automatically so this could very well be the problem. How do I determine which patch is causing the problem and how do I remove it?? Thanks.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
Well, I'd probably scan the Microsoft Knowledge Base, since I only remember seeing the patch come up, but I don't remember which one it was.
 
Joined
May 13, 2003
Messages
26
I am also having a similar problem in XP.My fax view only lets me see the cover page and I cannot get the rest of the pages to view. Let me know what you find out about your problem.
 

rwrussell

Thread Starter
Joined
May 17, 1999
Messages
75
I followed johnwill's suggestion and seached the Microsoft Knowledge database for XP fax console. There was a fix that I was able to download and now it works great! Good luck!
 
Joined
May 13, 2003
Messages
26
When I try to preview a fax I get a window with the cover page and in the blue title bar is has
MSFaxConsoleTempPreview# ( ...etc).
It seems to be using Quicktime to preview faxes and this was not the case before.
I read JOHNWILL's reply to RWRUSSELL but I don't understand how to remove the Q322011 patch. Thanks in advance for any help
:confused:
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top