1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

lost system.ini file and then things got bad

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by mlc10, Jan 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mlc10

    mlc10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    family member deleted system.ini file. error message requested boot disk and i believe scanreg/restore. i could not find emergency book disk (but have install cds). i was directed to bootdisk.com. however, i may have downloaded wrong version (98). now my machine will only read floppy and cd (x drive). will not reinstall windows ME from cd. any attempt to examine c drive is met with statement about invalid media. i am trying not to reformat the hard drive.

    mike
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi, and welcome.

    Where were they when they deleted the system.ini file?
     
  3. mlc10

    mlc10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    My wife deleted the file while in my computer. She may have deleted other files but I not sure. I am basing my post on what error message came when I tried to boot the machine. At that point, I could not access anything.
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Does the hard drive still appear in the bios setup info?
     
  5. mlc10

    mlc10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    not sure. how would i check that? it seems that the machine won't do much of anything at this point.
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    When the computer first starts up, there is a key to press to access the bios setup...most often, it's the DEL key, but it can be F 1 or F 2, Compaq machines, F 10....and there are others. Is it a name brand computer?
     
  7. mlc10

    mlc10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    dell dimension desktop. if i attempt to boot with a disk i simply get a cursor. nothing else. the only way it will even go to other drives (excluding c) is if bootdisk is in floppy.
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    The bios access is before the computer gets that far....take the floppy out, restart the computer, and I think for Dells, it's the F 1 or F 2 key....keep tapping both repeatedly.....of course, one at a time, then you'll need to restart and try the other one.


    Oops, on a quick check at Dell's site, it appears it's the F 2 or DEL key....

    keep tapping one of those while the computer is starting up.
     
  9. mlc10

    mlc10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    F2 key brough up bios setup. i am not sure how to id hardrive but under main all is present. Under boot i am showing floppy, Fdd, hdd, and cdrom. configuration is present for IDE master
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Look around for another page showing the actual cdrom, and hard drive info...you should be able to see something like USER/AUTO settings....or perhaps the size and make/model of the hard drive itself.

    Just re-reading, you say 'under main, all is present' -- does this mean you see the hard drive being displayed?
     
  11. mlc10

    mlc10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    there are 4 pages: main, advanced, security, and boot

    on the main page there is an ide configuration field which then lists the IDE controller settings. i don't see anything for cd drives except on the boot page.

    on the advanced page there is a diskette configuration field which lists only floppy a and diskette controller
     
  12. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Can you get to an a:\> prompt using a startup floppy? It really won't even matter if it's not the WinME version. You can try more than one if the first doesn't get you there.

    Once at the a:\>prompt enter each of these bold lines exactly:

    c:
    cd windows\command
    (you should now be at c:\windows\command\>)

    scanreg /restore

    Remove the startup floppy and use your arrow key to select the last started registry. This will replace the registry AND system.ini.
     
  13. mlc10

    mlc10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    i tried and am getting an error message when i try to enter the command on the c drive:

    invalide media type reading drive c
    abort, retry, fail

    i will try other boot disks
     
  14. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    You need to be at the a:\> prompt to start with. When you first enter: c: do you get to c:\>

    If so what happens when you enter dir

    Is the drive readable? If not, there may be more serious damage.

    If you can't seem to get off the a:\> prompt, enter:

    fdisk /status

    Do you get an error message? Does the status information show the correct partition information?

    Another boot disk probably won't matter. but here's one with a lot of bells and whistles:

    http://download.com.com/3000-2094-5211180.html?legacy=cnet

    It's possible the drive isn't even being detected; watch the screen as the boot disk loads (the first one), if it says a "ram drive" is being created on drive 'c', then the hard disk is not detected. You may need to check the cables and also go into the BIOS and have it redetect the drive.
     
  15. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Per chance, do you know if the hard drive has a software overlay program on it like EZ-Bios?

    If so, you'll have to hold the control key to be able to boot from a boot disk.....the bios still has to show the hard drive though....

    Has anyone been playing around inside the computer?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/112843

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice