1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Lost Wireless Connection on Acer Netbook

Discussion in 'Networking' started by DavidPCS, May 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DavidPCS

    DavidPCS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    On my Acer Netbook, I am not able to connect to the internet using the wireless function.

    The system says that it is connected wirelessly however it's like something is being blocked.
    I am picking up my network and tried to disconnect and re connect no luck.
    I disable and enable same results
    I ran the repair feature but got the same results.

    I am able to connect using a network cable

    Wireless device: Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter

    I've checked all protocols the Wired and Wireless settings are all the same.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. maceman

    maceman

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Hi David,

    If it has worked before, try System Restore to the point it was still kickin'.
    If not it's probably a driver related issue.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,849
    you may have a firewall blocking access - has norton or other firewall secruity product run out of subscription recently

    I will move to the networking forum

    would you be able to do the following tests and copy onto a working PC

    Would you answer as many as possible questions also

    We need to have information please.

    - Who is your ISP (Internet Service Provider)
    - Make and Exact model of Router, Modem or router/modem combination
    - Make and Exact model of all PCs and Laptops
    - How are the PCs / Laptops connected - full details - cable, wireless
    - What windows version or other OS are running on each laptop Xp, Vista, 7, ubuntu etc
    - Are there any other machines working - if so please provide details
    - Do you have a Firewall - if so it may be blocking access - what firewall / security program do you have ?
    - If using wireless, do you have Encryption - if so, Remove any wireless encryption from the router, and try to connect - post back results
    - If using wireless encryption, try deleting the wireless profiles - post back results
    - Most laptops have a wireless switch - some a physical switch other use a combination of the FN key + one of the F key to toggle on/off - make sure this is on
    - If you have a router and seperate modem and NONE of the computers you have can connect, then connecting directly to the modem to eliminate the router for testing.
    - Post back the status of all the modem and/or router lights - are they correct ?
    - Try booting into safe mode with networking, to do that tap F8 as the PC boots and choose from menu - post back the results here
    - Try doing a system restore to a date before the problem start - post the result here

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Ping Tests}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Xirrus} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Then run the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. DavidPCS

    DavidPCS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Ok You've given me some homework.
    1st - My Laptop is win XP sp3
    I tried a System Restore. no go.
    I ran a ping test lost 4 of 4.
    I am able to connect IF I plug in a cable.
    I do not have any Firewalls - However I do use Spyware Terminator that can block programs. However it does not appear as if it's blocking my Wireless adapter.

    ISP: Time Warner Cable.
    Modem: Scientific-Atlanta, Inc.
    router:TRENdnet Wireless Nspeed Broadband Router TEW-652BRP
    All lights are on and blinking correctly.
    Laptop: Window XP sp3 Acer Asire one Netbook
    Secondary Unit: Windows Vista E Machine - No issues

    I don't think I have any Encryption on my wireless connection.
    I don't think its a switch issue, because when I unplug the cable
    My wireless Icon is still active, picking up my Network: Signal Strong
    with a message of: connected.

    I've disconnected, reconnected, disable, enable and repair.
    After 60 seconds of being connected I've sent 150 packets and received 45


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Wireless Connection
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Dave>ping 192.168.10.1

    Pinging 192.168.10.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.10.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    C:\Documents and Settings\Dave>

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Dave>Ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Dave>

    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    Cable Connected
    C:\Documents and Settings\Dave>Ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=87ms TTL=49
    Request timed out.


    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 87ms, Maximum = 91ms, Average = 89ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Dave>
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager:

    Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter
    No alert Icons on the Adapters listed.

     

    Attached Files:

  5. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,849
    thanks for all that info ...
    can we see an ipconfig /all when connected with wireless - without cable connected
    also can you download and install xirrus -see above

    the
    is that connected by wireless ?
    If so could we a ipconfig /all from that machine also - make sure we know which ipconfig /all belongs to which machine
     
  6. DavidPCS

    DavidPCS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Sorry for the delay was out of town for a days. As requested:
    My Vista Unit is connected via Cable. The issue is only on my Laptop when I unplugged the cable.


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Dave>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Ebenezer
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : socal.rr.com

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8132 PCI-E Fast Ethernet C
    ontroller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-5A-B6-0F-9A-FE

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : socal.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-4C-E5-56-00-D4
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.103
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 8:22:57 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, June 02, 2010 8:22:57 PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Dave>
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,849
    would explain a little more in detail
    That ipconfig /all shows a connection to the router - would you now do this

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Xirrus} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Then run the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Ping Tests}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/922873