1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

loud beep while booting

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by hellllp, Mar 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hellllp

hellllp Thread Starter

HELP!

my laptop makes a loud continuous beep while booting. It does not occur every time i start the pc, but it happens most of the time. though it functions properly after it starts, the start-up can be quite irritating.
    i checked pretty closely for any stuck keys.. cudn't find any. i'm wondering if it's heating up that causes it to shout out loud or some other problem hidden inside the case..(i guess thoshiba laptops heat up more than the others-from what i have noticed, but then i'm no expert.. :eek:) before i get him to a repair center, just wanted to find out if there's anything I can do to stop it..

Also, i am due replacing the battery.. the laptop functions only when it is plugged to power. dunno if that makes any difference bbut just wanted to make a mention..

it's a thoshiba pc with 3gb ram and intel pentium dual cpu t3400 @ 2.16ghz.. whatever that means :confused:

thx!

2. Mark1956

Mark1956

Try starting it up with the battery pack removed and the power supply connected.

Tell me if you still get the continuous beep.

Also, tap F12 at startup and see what version of Bios you have. If F12 does not get you into the Bios you may have to check in your user manual.

3. hellllp

hellllp Thread Starter

you are a star! no beeps after i removed the battery pack.. (y)
    BIOS version is 1.7. so i guess it's the battery then?? if yes i ll rest this case..
    thank you!!

4. Mark1956

Mark1956

It certainly does sound like the battery pack is defective and is the cause of the problem. You will not know for certain until fitting a replacement.

5. hellllp