low on virtual memory

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dmcd

Thread Starter
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
484
I use windows XP and have a modern computer (with 2 hard drives - both are half full). I have had a lot of problems recently and now during start up I am getting an error message saying "low on virtual memory" The computer has been running slow for a week.
Can anyone help me to fix this>?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Check your VM settings under Control Panel - System -> Advanced -> Settings (performance) - Advanced and Change to see your current settings.

You may want to run a virus scanner. Here's two free online scanners:
http://housecall.trendmicro.com/
http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/default.asp?productid=symhome&langid=ie&venid=sym

You may also want to do some adaware/spyware scans. I recommend using Adaware and Spybot for this task. Be sure to update thme abefore scanning the computer and fix all problems they find.

This is most likely a software issue not hardware.
 

dmcd

Thread Starter
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
484
thank you for your advice - I looked at the virtual memory, but dont really understand what it means. I have two drives - it said next to one of them (C) that the paging file size is 384-768. It didn't have anything next to D Drive. Then it said that the space available is 20165MB. Total paging file size for all drives is recommended 382mb currently allocated 439mb. Does this make sense to you?? I am now about to download the virus scanner. Any further help/information would be great!
 

dmcd

Thread Starter
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
484
URGENT!!..........The virus scanner said I have a worm virus on my computer [email protected] - but I dont know how to clean it from my computer as it says it is uncleanable. Can anyone help me please?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
VM settings are fine; its the virus thats the problem. Once you clean the virus get yourself an antivirus program. Norton Antivirus is good, so is AVG from www.grisoft.com and its free.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top