1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Low Resources, Win ME :<

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by samular, Dec 16, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. samular

    samular Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    145
    im constantly getting low memory messeges wich freeze everything up and i have 512mb ram running windows ME

    i think you guys have had this problem numerious times but i cant find anything about it, please help me this is getting VERY annoying.
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
  3. samular

    samular Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    145
    thanks, ill try them out

    one extra thing, i am getting blue screen errors a lot aswell, they say

    Error: OE :0187 :BFF8E64B



    and other errors that say

    KERNE32 Caused a general protection fault in module USER.EXE at 0003:00002fal
     
  4. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Make sure you run that virus scan then!





    Savvy :)
     
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    The amount of RAM you have doesn't have any influence on your system resources.

    Your problem is probably mainly due to the number of programs you have starting up as Windows loads.

    Do this:

    Go to Start/run, and type Msinfo32, followed by OK.
    Go to Software Environment/Startup Programs.
    Now click Edit/'Select all', and then 'copy'
    Paste the contents in your post.

    And I must warn you, that there's a memory leak issue where WinME is concerned: http://www.extremetech.com/article/0,3396,s%3D201%26a%3D8748,00.asp

    But first, let's have a look at your startup proggies.
     
  6. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    And, if I may add: follow Savvy's advice as well. It certainly helps!

    Good luck,
     
  7. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Hey Tony... I just read the article on memory leak in ME. I have not had a problem w/ the errors... but I can sure tell I don't have enough memory..
    Would using a web based e-mail be better than OE?

    or what would you suggest... I have Rambus in route to me as we speak.

    Savvy :)
     
  8. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Savvy,

    I like OE fine myself, and I hardly ever use Hotmail or any other Web based e-mail program.

    This ME memory issue is something Microsoft isn't able, or more likely willing to redress, because they've put all their money on XP, so I'm afraid you'll have to live with it.

    It is true that some systems are more affected than others, and some people are actually running ME without any problems... :D

    However, what you can do yourself, is what we did just yesterday: remove everything unneccessary from Startup.

    Greetz,
     
  9. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    :) Thanks Tony
     
  10. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    Just out of curiousity, why do you believe you don't have enough memory?
     
  11. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    WhitPhil i have a new PC a Sony VAIO P4 1.4gHz... it only has 128MB's of ram onboard presently... I have 256MB's on the way.


    Savvy :)

    also after reducing the read ahead .... I still have a very sluggish mouse... it often hit and climbs an invisible wall....lol
    multitasking is what causes it & I cleaned up my startup yesterday & empty temps at Internet Options several times daily.
     
  12. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    The extra memory will probably not hurt, but I can't see it helping with a sluggish mouse. Unless, when you mean multitasking, you mean running MANY MANY tasks at once.

    "invisible wall" meaning, the mouse will not go by a certain area on the screen, and instead goes up???

    Memory won't resolve that. Sounds like a dirty mouse, or corrupted drivers.
     
  13. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Exactly WhitPhil.... I have no idea other than Ram what could be causing this on a brand new PC.
    dirty mouse NOT... unless its from the factory.... I'll check...

    drivers ?

    Savvy :)

    I just checked the mouse & it was fine... which drivers?? the mouse? In systems properties it says Im alrady using the best drivers.
     
  14. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    But, as WhitPhil already asked, why do you think you need more memory?
    Is it just the mouse, or are there other things.

    Also, is this a mouse with a mouse ball, or is it an optical device, because optical mice sometimes do that if they're on a reflecting surface.

    Grtz.
     
  15. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    it gets sluggish & unresponsive at times

    Standard mouse w/ the wheel for scrolling

    at this moment I only have this open & zone alarm on the taskbar & its acting badly ( the mouse)


    performance is at 63% though.... rebooting

    ==================================

    ok I just rebooted... & now im at 85%

    still running the same things plus virus scanner


    Savvy :)

    after reducing the read ahead .... I still have a very sluggish mouse... it often hit and climbs an invisible wall....lol
    multitasking is what causes it & I cleaned up my startup yesterday & empty temps at Internet Options several times daily.

    Its still acting the same way.The mouse I mean
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61922

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice