1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

lowering cpu temp

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by max 8, Jan 20, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. max 8

max 8 Thread Starter

Hello. I'm running a AMD t-bird 1200mhz cpu and the temp ranges from 46c (idle) to 50c (in use). my system temp is around 27c.
    I have a case fan sucking in air and a case fan blowing air out.
    my cpu fan is a thermaltake heat sink fan at 4600rpm.
    I was thinking of installing another fan, the kind that you screw on where a pci card usually goes.
    I'm kinda new at this so I apologize if my terms are wrong.
    Will that lower my temps any? and If so, will it be significant enough to make a difference.
    My system is running perfectly fine as is.

2. brianF

brianF

My opinion the slot fan's stink. they don't last very long.

If you have an open 5 1.4 bay get one of the twin turbos that fit there. They move a lot of air

3. max 8

max 8 Thread Starter

Thanks for the very quick response.
    Scrap the slot fan.
    will the twin turbo fan kit help reduce my cpu temp?

4. brianF

brianF

One important step in keeping cpu temp down is to eliminate the hot air inside the case. Outside of a new cpu heatsink/fan it will hell. Pulls hot air out the top allowing cool room air to come in through the vents.

Also redoing your current heatsink fan with good thermal grease or arctic silver compound will help, providing a better heat transfer mechanism between the cpu and the heatsink.

5. max 8

max 8 Thread Starter

I was thinking of replacing my cpu fan w/ one that runs at over 7000rpm. will that help?

6. brianF

brianF

It may and it may not. Depends if the heatsink has the heat to get rid of. Going to be noisy I would bet.