1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

lsass.exe status code error, please read.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jamiedanerd, Sep 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jamiedanerd

    jamiedanerd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    hello,
    well let's get straight to the point. i had windows xp with a beta version of service pack 2 installed, found out i had the w32 welchia virus and i just couldn't get rid of it, my antivirus (norton) would detect and delete it everytime i disabled my norton internet security.

    so, after i did a few scans with a few different removal program (usually they found something and deleted it, sometimes they didn't), but it was still there. so i decided to try the microsoft security update, but since i had SP beta 2 i couldn't install SP1 security update. so i removed sp2. every since then i've been getting this status code error:
    c:\windows\system32/lsass.exe caused status code 1073741819
    so, i did some searches on the web and found this site:
    http://www.jsiinc.com/SUBH/tip3800/rh3891.htm

    it says NOTE: You can use Ldp.exe or Adsiedit.exe to change the replInterval value

    i guess i have to change that value to get it working properly, but i don't have ldp.exe or adsiedit.exe and don't know where to get them.
    so now everytime i reboot i get this error msg and it restarts the pc. sometimes it works though, which is how i'm on now. i left it on overnight and it didn't reboot the whole night... so i thought with the sp1a upgrade i fixed it, but i just got the error about 5 minutes ago.

    can anyone help me fix this?
    it's really annoying argg...
    i hope i don't have to reinstall xp.

    im running windows xp pro with sp1a
     
  2. byon

    byon

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    37
  3. jamiedanerd

    jamiedanerd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    yes
    the virus is gone
     
  4. jamiedanerd

    jamiedanerd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    oh yeah, the link i gave is for windows 2000 sp2 which i don't have. but this is the only thing close i could find related to this.
    i'm also not running as a domain controller.
     
  5. jamiedanerd

    jamiedanerd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    well i guess i am going to try to reupdate to sp2 hopefully that will fix things.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/163444

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice