1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

M-s Dos Prompt

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by mom4711, Dec 8, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mom4711

    mom4711 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    139
    A M-S DOS Prompt box comes up and says Specified COMMAND search directory bad. This happens when I first start my computer and windows 98 is running. I close this box and everything seems fine, but is there anyway to fix this? I ran my boot disk through but that did not seem to work. Thanks so much for your help!:)
     
  2. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
  3. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    As test open Notepad or any editor enter: EXIT and save the file as: C:\win95xt.bat

    Then reboot to test. This problem has been reported to a bad reference in the boot sequence. What I suggested is only a workaround. Let us know if it worked or not. Also if you would like to dig deeper and you like playing with computer system files let us know.

    Good luck.
     
  4. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    Nice find Tony. Tony's find may be the problem as well. An easier method of correcting the COMMAND.COM file is to go to an MS-DOS prompt or MS-DOS Mode and type: SYS C:
     
  5. mom4711

    mom4711 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    139
    Ok I tried the MS DOS Prompt and it said cannot specify default drive
     
  6. mom4711

    mom4711 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    139
    :) I still haven't found my problem. Anymore suggestions?:)
     
  7. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    that message is normal. You cannot transfer the system from the same drive you are using.

    Get a bootdisk. If you don't have one, go here and Dowmload it. Run the exe and make a boot floppy.
    www.bootdisk.com
    Be sure to Download the correct disk for your version of Windows.
    Boot with the floppy in the drive. At th A:\>

    type


    Sys C: and press enter
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61106

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice