1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

.mac account - worth it?

Discussion in 'Apple Mac' started by AustinM, Feb 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AustinM

AustinM Thread Starter

I'm new to macs, just bought my wife her first MacBook.

Is a .mac account worth $100/year?

2. Yankee Rose

Yankee Rose

Hi --

I just today - as a matter of fact - upgraded to the Family Pak. :)

I really like .mac. I like the iWeb capabilities and honesty, the @mac.com domain with my email. (My other email domain is REALLY long and a pain to explain to people.)

It is really a matter of opinion as to whether or not it is worth it. The best way to find out is to take advantage of their 60-day free trial period and try it out. If you don't like it you do not have to upgrade (purchase) after 60 days.

Hope that helps. :) Have fun!

3. dungeonguard

dungeonguard

I'm going to add here:

I absolutely hate .Mac. First of all, my e-mail became clouded with junk mail within a week, next it's pretty stupid considering we have Hotmail or Yahoo! for free, and last the .Mac pages are pretty cheap.

4. ferrija1

ferrija1

It's not worth it. It's an ok service but it costs too much and doesn't have much in it. You can get a domain and web hosting for <$15.00/month, there are plenty of free places that offer at least 1GB of storage, and IMAP e-mail and IM software is all over the web. The rest of the features are kind-of boring.

5. MSM Hobbes

MSM Hobbes

To some, a .mac is worth a lot.
    To others, its not.
    Depends upon your specific needs and goals.

Me, I bought it, contemplated it, researched it, thought some more, and then returned the unopened box back to Apple.

Take a look at this for some potential help for your needs:
    http://5thirtyone.com/archives/741