Mac on Wondows machine?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

docmcr

Thread Starter
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
23
Ok, I am confused, a little. I have been told and have read on this group that I can install Winmdows on a Mac machine. but my question now is can I install Mac OS on my windows computer? I have set it up with NTFS, unfortunately even if I reformat my 160 GB HD and partition it will Mac OS work?
 

docmcr

Thread Starter
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
23
Why illegal?
I have a generic clone desk top computer that I had built to my specs. I paid for the machine in cash as well as the complete install version of Windows XP Pro. I own the license and licensed copy of the Windows XP Pro. I admit that I didn't read all of the fine print of the license, but who does????
If I decide to eliminate my Windows XP, say buy a new HD, couldn't I also purchase the complete install version of the Apple OS and install it on the machine and run Apple instead of Windows? Do I have to purchase a new Apple computer?
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
37
I believe that OS X's license says it can only be run on Apple hardware.

But beyond that, I don't think you can install OS X on anything but Apple hardware. I don't think it works.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2004
Messages
7,800
I believe that OS X's license says it can only be run on Apple hardware.

But beyond that, I don't think you can install OS X on anything but Apple hardware. I don't think it works.
It is possible, and against Apple's EULA.

What Apple doesn't want you to know is that their is nothing special about their hardware, they just match the OS to batches. Serial starting with xxxxxxxx--------- is a valid drive etc.


There are hacks out there to run Mac OS on a regular PC, but it is not technically legal. Not to mention you will get 0 tech support from Apple shoudl there be issues.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
3,012
Ok, I am confused, a little. I have been told and have read on this group that I can install Winmdows on a Mac machine. but my question now is can I install Mac OS on my windows computer? I have set it up with NTFS, unfortunately even if I reformat my 160 GB HD and partition it will Mac OS work?
There is no such things as a "windows computer" or "windows machine". Windows is just the software, the operating system.

Computer is hardware ;)
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
7,954
We're not the only ones doing it... :rolleyes:
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=off&q="windows+computer"&btnG=Search

You fighting billions of people, just let people call it what they want. People say the nonsensical phrase "I could care less' while it should truly be 'I could not care less," but who goes around correcting people and making sure everything is right? Windows machine/computer is a popular term already, can you please stop playing terminology police?
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
613
When I refer to a "Windows machine" It's shorthand for "a machine running Windows Software" ... it's just quicker/easier to type the former.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
48
We're not the only ones doing it... :rolleyes:
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=off&q="windows+computer"&btnG=Search

You fighting billions of people, just let people call it what they want. People say the nonsensical phrase "I could care less' while it should truly be 'I could not care less," but who goes around correcting people and making sure everything is right? Windows machine/computer is a popular term already, can you please stop playing terminology police?
I could care less is an Americanism. Us Brits do say "I couldn't care less", and thus I make sure to correct people ;)
Sorry, I'm being pedantic.

Like said above, if you're willing to break the law and lose support for your OS, go ahead and install Mac on a normal machine. I'm all in favour of it. I may even have to try it one day. I refuse to purchase any Apple Hardware just for a single damned OS.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
613
[Off Topic_Pandora's Box] Thanks for clarifying that clintonio .... we Aussies say the same [/Topic_Box]
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
1,064
I could care less is an Americanism. Us Brits do say "I couldn't care less", and thus I make sure to correct people ;)
Sorry, I'm being pedantic.

Like said above, if you're willing to break the law and lose support for your OS, go ahead and install Mac on a normal machine. I'm all in favour of it. I may even have to try it one day. I refuse to purchase any Apple Hardware just for a single damned OS.
I'd say it's less an Americanism, and more a person not understanding what s/he is saying. There are those of us, who are Americans, who care enough to be precise about the turns of phrase we use, be they spoken or written.

The above "phrase" is one of my pet peeves. If one could care less, then apparently s/he cares at least a little. More often than not, this is not the message that is intended to be conveyed.

Another of my pet peeves is when a person says, "heighth." No such word. This same person, mind you, would never say something concerning "weighth."

Sadly, people are no longer corrected when they use the language incorrectly. I could care less.

Yes. That was intentional. I could care less. But I don't. I do care, and I find trends such as these abhorrent.

Sorry for the detour. Someone seems to have hit a nerve. ;) For what it's worth, I'm also one who uses italics and underlines and bold print to convey emphasis in my posts, so as to remove any doubt as to where the inflection I intend is to fall. Some find that annoying. I find it quite useful.
 

tomdkat

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
7,148
Ok, I am confused, a little. I have been told and have read on this group that I can install Winmdows on a Mac machine. but my question now is can I install Mac OS on my windows computer? I have set it up with NTFS, unfortunately even if I reformat my 160 GB HD and partition it will Mac OS work?
Why would you want to run OS X on this computer?

Peace...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top