Machine loses workgroup name

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

simon cook

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 7, 2004
Messages
4
One of my two PCs that is networked in a workgroup named 76ROTHES loses its settings each time it is restarted, eg its workgroup name reverts back to the default. -When I run the network setup wizard all is OK, but I have to run it each time the PC is restarted. Help!
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2003
Messages
343
Is the machine running W95 or W98? if so are you using a logon name or just clicking on 'cancel'? If you're clicking on cancel, then the OS will resort to default values, use a logon name, even if the password is blank (not a good idea if you have internet access), run the network setup and then use the logon name every time. If you want to automate the logon, use 'tweakui' to do this
Cheers,
10forcash
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top