1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

MachineIdCreator startup error

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by weilmd1, May 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. weilmd1

    weilmd1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    valis - installed RevoPro, Uninstalled, did advanced uninstall. Appears to have uninstalled everything. On restart, same MachineIdCreator error. AVG is nowhere anywhere to be found (well, somewhere something is amiss, but I don't know what/where...). I went through the registry, searching for 'avg' and found/removed a few more AVG2013 entries. The only avg remnants left are AVGeneral(xxxx) entries, which I did not touch.

    MachineIdCreator error persists. Next step?

    adTHANKSvance, again...
     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67,540
    btw, love the sig.....had to think, and that's always good.....

    i'm buried in a bizarre outlook issue currently with outlook2010 and outlookconnector.exe; were it me, I'd back up the registry and dump those files.....but that's me, I'm comfy in the registry.
     
  3. weilmd1

    weilmd1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    valis: I'm not in a hurry....so I really appreciate your time.

    When you say "dump those files" I presume you mean all entries with "AVGeneral(xxx)" style wording? I would gladly, only my thought is that these are AV_(General), not AVG_(eneral), if you know what I mean...

    I wonder where the MachineIdCreator app is being called from? How/what is deciding it is needed? The AppName is MachineIdCreator.exe, but it is not on my system; likewise the ModName avguidx.dll (except under the "Search Assistant" keys when I use Windows Search to find the file)

    Any suggestions?

    Wow...what a deeply embedded error...not damaging, I don't think, but a PIA on startup...

    Mike
     
  4. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. itsrooster
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    349
  2. cway
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    294
  3. techguy41
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    577
  4. AirPolgas
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    397
  5. cron1000
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    456
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1098680